Total Noob Question - wiring subs to amp

I am designing a box for x2 C2 Audio Team 1K 12's... I have always run just a single woofer, so i have never been met with this "issue".

My amplifier is a Crunch GP3000D-Pro, it is a mono-block amp but has 4 speaker terminals.

• Can I wire each sub independently to 0.5 ohm, giving me 1 ohm total at the amp (before imp rise, of course) if I am going to utilize both sets of terminals?
  • Is it best to just wire them together to 1 ohm and use 1 set of speaker terminals on the amp? (if so, please give reason why...)
  • OR, does it make almost no difference at all?

Thanks in advance!

F O.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm probably wrong but If you wire each speaker independently at .5 ohm to each set of terminals the amp will see it as .5 ohm not 1 ohm.

edit: You can wire the subs together and use just one set of terminals if I'm not mistaken.

1992 Honda Civic CX Hatchback

K24a2 Swap

864CEF84-10EC-47CE-B7C5-3DD9A6F157DE_zps

I see that, that is how I would normally have wired them.. but I was thinking that since the terminals are all connected (mono block) that I could just wire each sub independently.. So I am not wiring the subs together in the box. This will allow me to have thicker speaker wire.

Can anyone give me any details if I should NOT wire my subs independently?

Noelito - you say to wire my subs like shown above, why wire this way and not independently?

F O.

I see that, that is how I would normally have wired them.. but I was thinking that since the terminals are all connected (mono block) that I could just wire each sub independently.. So I am not wiring the subs together in the box. This will allow me to have thicker speaker wire.

Can anyone give me any details if I should NOT wire my subs independently?

Noelito - you say to wire my subs like shown above, why wire this way and not independently?

It is called wiring them in "Series/Parallel" ... (SER/PAR) ... to achieve a 1-Ohm load.