New to the SQ game

crw092782

I have been installing audio equipment for about 18 years but I have always stuck to my bread and butter. SPL. I have used primarily MDF and Baltic birch to build everything. I want to do something different. I want to try my hand at a nice looking (and sounding) SQ install. Ideally I would like to fiberglass my A-Pillars, door pods, and possibly a nice fiberglass amp rack/sub enclosure.

I have been playing around with different setups but I just cant seem to keep the costs down to a manageable budget. I am going to be installing this in to my daily driver. 2004 Pontiac Vibe. I am going to deaden the roof, doors, floor, and hatch next week as well.

Sub: I was checking around and it seems that the JBL GTI MKii 12" seems to be a favorite.

Sub amp: Open to suggestions

Head Unit: Sony MEX-N5000BT (Just installed it today)

Component sets: Open to suggestions

Other amps: Open to suggestions

Now I would love to be able to order top of the line Audison or Focal but I just can't afford to do that. My budget for the build is $1500. Since I will be installing this all in stages, it is important that I stay with 6.5" speakers for now so that I can utilize the stock door locations until I practice my fiberglass skills a little. Thanks for your help.

2004 Pontiac Vibe Build

Sony MEX-N5000BT

JBL P660C x 2

Sundown Audio Zv4 18

Crescendo BC2000D

Crescendo S800/4

Execution Audio 0 AWG Wire

Sky High Car Audio RCA's

Toolmaker Terminals

XS Power D1200

DC Power 240HP Alternator

Viper 5706

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am really leaning toward Soundcubed PA6.5's now. The more I read about them the more I think they are what I am looking for. And for the price? Amazing!

2004 Pontiac Vibe Build

Sony MEX-N5000BT

JBL P660C x 2

Sundown Audio Zv4 18

Crescendo BC2000D

Crescendo S800/4

Sky High Car Audio RCA's

Toolmaker Terminals

XS Power D1200

Viper 5706