Second Skin Audio

Sub suggestions for jeep

JoeJeep

Hi guys, new to the forums here as a member although I've used them for years now as a guest. With that being said I'm looking for suggestions on a pair of 12s for the cargo space in my 1998 jeep cherokee.

A little background:

This is my first time doing car audio on my own. I'm a union electrician apprentice so I have some basic knowledge of electrical theory and can work with tools.

I have already installed a sony cdx-gt57up (which I'm looking to upgrade), a pioneer gm-d8604 4 channel amp, wired with 4 awg welding cable for power and ground fused @ 80A to power 4 kicker 40cs654 coax speakers (open to opinions about these as well) in the front doors and rear sound bar wired with 10 awg speaker cable. Im happy with the sound although the speakers pop when bass hits at about 50% volume. I know the highs can take it if i trim the bass down. The speakers are rated 100w rms/300w max although I'm sure they're probably a bit less.

So the question is what would be a good sub/amp matchup for my existing setup with the kickers. I'm looking for bass that you can feel and shakes the mirrors (SPL I guess). I mostly listen to rap and rock. A few options I've looked at so far were soundquebed and re audio. Any help is much appreciated.

What is your budget?

Soundqubed is a great brand and im sure you would be happy with them. And for the money, you cant go wrong, but there are so many options out there its hard to tell you what you would like.

Fi Team 18's (4)
Crossfire 16k
Crossfire 400.4 & 800.4
Pioneer AVH-X491bhs
140ah cmax
CES 320's (2)

I like the price of the soundqubed's (also read good things in the forums) so I guess somewhere around that for the subs and another 200-300 for the amplifier if that's realistic. Although I'm still planning on upgrading my battery and alternator cables to 1/0, so any where i can save without sacrificing quality I'd like to. I do understand you get what you pay for though.