Hello everyone. I have a 2000 gmc sierra 1500 z71. When I bought the truck about 8 months ago I decided to go ahead and do the brakes. I replaced the front rotors and pads and the back pads. I bled them but not necessarily right. The pedal hasn't felt solid since I got the truck. Anyways 2 days ago my truck started pulling hard to the right about 2 miles from the house. When I got home the rotor and caliper and we're hot and smoking a little. So I figured it was the pad pushed against rotor. I relieved pressure on the caliper. Anyways it still held until it cooled off. Yesterday I had my wife take it to the shop and get them bled. They said I had no air in the lines but brakes felt spongy. Any ideas?

I'm not an expert so please use dummy version for me.

Still learning but have started gathering.

what procedure did you use to season the new front rotors and bed the pads? I know if you skip these steps it tend to lead for a world of hurt dont the road.... also be careful if the rotors got really hot and you do not have sealed bearings because all that heat will melt out the grease.... I once burnt a spindle from a hot rotor because the grease went byebye and the bearing went dry... took me 3 days to learn that problem when I was 18.... got lucky and the spindle did not warp but rotor and bearings were toast.... if it pulling under breaking or pulling while coasting and how does the wheels spin when you jack it up

1. Use the vehicle for five or six days of gentle driving, using the brakes to the same extent you would in typical driving conditions.

[important]NOTE: Zinc-plated rotors require a couple extra days of driving to wear through the plating before the rotor-seasoning process can begin.[/important]

2. After finding a safe location to drive your vehicle as fast as 70 miles-per-hour, perform four regular stops—from 60-70 miles-per-hour down to complete stops as you would during normal driving conditions.