Macbook Pro Questions [ for Comp Sci / Programming ]

Whats up yall. Hope yall thanksgiving went well.

Anyways, I had a question concerning Apple's Macbook Pro. I am currently a college student in computer science and I have as recently built a great PC. But now that I am transitioning from community college into a 4-year, I would likely need a laptop for on the go. Now I am interested in website development, desktop applications, as well as android / iOS app development.

My main question is, will a mac be a relatively smart decision over a windows? Specifically, a 13.3" 2.6GHz Dual-Core with 256 SSD storage as well as 8GB RAM (http://www.apple.com/shop/product/FGX82LL/A/refurbished-133-inch-macbook-pro-26ghz-dual-core-intel-i5-with-retina-display). The reason I am looking into the Mac is to play around with app development on the iOS platform as I can't do it on my windows PC. If I want to continue to using windows such as Visual Studio, I will have my PC as well as I can use bootcamp on the Mac to launch windows. For extra space exceeding 256 SSD, I can grab a 1 TB External hard drive to carry around .

Will the 2.6GHz suppor the speed of compiling / multiple tabs without damaging or slowing the reading / writing of the laptop? Also, I read Macs tend to last longer than windows but the cons are, no type of gaming . As well as, the price tag for the parts we are getting.

Any advice / experience from people who program / current computer science students who use Macs as their primary laptop. Thanks!

MOB-MOBILE: 2005 Honda Accord 5-Speed System: (1) Sundown Audio SA-15 (1) MB Quart ONX1.1500D (1) Kenwood KDC-248U

Speakers:

-Rear Dash: (2) Clarion SRQ6932R 6x9's SOLD

New MOB-MOBILE:

2011 G37S Sedan

System:
TBD

Instagram (18+) : DabsWitaBudget415

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Personally I'd get a Windows laptop over a MacBook for what you're using it for. Only thing you lose out on is iOS/Mac dev.