Jump to content

Sundown Audio
Welcome to SMD Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Amplifier Getting Hot


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic

#1
kentb

kentb

    150db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,727 posts
hi everyone,
just got my amps back from audiosavings(hifonics goliath xxv), i blew it the first time from some odd reason.
so since then i upgraded all my grounds, triple checked everything.
got it hooked up.
annd now its playing good. but the problem is its getting very hot after playing for about 30 mins.
is that normal?

because my last amp was the kicker zx750.1 and it doesn't even get hot.

just curious because its my first time having a high wattage amp.

also it seems that my btls doesn't move that much compared to youtube videos.


setup is on my sig.

thanks!

#2
kentb

kentb

    150db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,727 posts
i've been playing with it and i noticed that i need to clip it(clip light goes on) just to get some good movement.
it is loud though. it hurts my ears

#3
Decaf

Decaf

    Coffie w/o the Hype

  • SMD Gold Member

  • 6,903 posts
how is ur alpine setup... what are the settings

same with ur amp

did u use a dmm to set gains, are you using bass boost on that amp

TeamSundown-sig.jpg


#4
Forceww

Forceww

    125db

  • Members
  • 283 posts
alpine HU are kinda tricky. Usually you have to set the subwoofer setting(not bass setting) pretty high to get the full voltage out of your alpine HU which could be why you have to turn your amp up so high that its clipping before you get good output. Thats my best guess
**New setup in the works** Shocker sigs ftw!

*Breakin Glass and Kickin Ass*

Team SBC

Team Full Force

Refs

SMD-derrick, Bangin Explorer, Exposport, Bass 14
CA-connersdad19 x2, Ridnclean, Deafdreamz, nismos14
cac.org-Spl Guru, Andrew, dblover, lunari

#5
The Performer

The Performer

    145db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,466 posts
Also what load are your subs presenting to the amp?
Posted Image
Posted ImageCERTIFIED BITCHES!!!
Not being new at something doesn't mean anything. Just because a prostitute isn't new at what she does, doesn't change the fact that she still 'sucks'


Click to see my build!

Proud DC owner

#6
reinke

reinke

    ATTN WHORE

  • Deleted

  • 3,258 posts
forceww is right i had to set my subwoofer setting on +11 just to be able to get 1300 watts out of each one of my amps.
----reference's---- meade916

#7
kentb

kentb

    150db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,727 posts
thanks for the reply.
my alpines at +0 on subwoofer right now.
i didn't use a dmm, i set my gains to max with no bass boost(i know i know).
ok ill try what you said.

#8
Eric B

Eric B

    165db

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,340 posts
2V ftl get a diff head unit

Posted Image

2007 Chevy HHR LT

UNDER CONSTRUCTION


1st Place Loud N Low 2010 MWSPL Finals

3rd Place Xtreme 3 2010 MWSPL Finals


#9
littleitaly1990

littleitaly1990

    Godfather of Bass

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 3,052 posts
set the subwoofer settings at +15 when you set your gains. Alpine themselves said it directly controlled voltage to the amps, so it wont cause clipping, it will just allow you to get the max out of your amp.
A vitrolic, megalomaniacal sadistic psychopath.

#10
littleitaly1990

littleitaly1990

    Godfather of Bass

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 3,052 posts

set the subwoofer settings at +15 when you set your gains. Alpine themselves said it directly controlled voltage to the amps, so it wont cause clipping, it will just allow you to get the max out of your amp.

Oh and use a dang dmm, one can be had for like ten bucks at wally world, and even that would be better than setting by ear.
A vitrolic, megalomaniacal sadistic psychopath.

#11
reinke

reinke

    ATTN WHORE

  • Deleted

  • 3,258 posts

2V ftl get a diff head unit

which alpine do you ahve that only has 2 v pre outs. i have a 9883 and it has 4v. i tested it myself
----reference's---- meade916

#12
Eric B

Eric B

    165db

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,340 posts

which alpine do you ahve that only has 2 v pre outs. i have a 9883 and it has 4v. i tested it myself


9856 i only like it for the ipod control

Posted Image

2007 Chevy HHR LT

UNDER CONSTRUCTION


1st Place Loud N Low 2010 MWSPL Finals

3rd Place Xtreme 3 2010 MWSPL Finals


#13
kentb

kentb

    150db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,727 posts

which alpine do you ahve that only has 2 v pre outs. i have a 9883 and it has 4v. i tested it myself

9887, it has 4v as well

#14
wL<3bass

wL<3bass

    Will

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 6,453 posts

alpine HU are kinda tricky. Usually you have to set the subwoofer setting(not bass setting) pretty high to get the full voltage out of your alpine HU which could be why you have to turn your amp up so high that its clipping before you get good output. Thats my best guess

Get a line driver one can be had rather cheap.
Vehicle: 1997 S10 Blazer 4dr 4X4
Exterior: Rear End Bagged, Black Grill, Lifted 2"
Amplifiers: Rockford Fosgate T8004 & T10001bd
Batteries: 2 Stinger SPV35, Kinetik HC2400
Electrical: Big 3, DC Power 290amp Alternator w/ MLA at 15.5v
Enclosure: 4.2 ft³ @ 33Hz 84sq.in. of port (20sq.in. per cube)
Headunit: Eclipse CD3200 w/ 80G iPod
Mids/Highs: Rockford T152s (a-pillars), Rockford T162s (doors)
Subwoofers: 1 15" Fi BL Fully Loaded
Wire: All 1/0g Kicker Hyperflex

My YouTube Videos
My Fiberglass A-Pillar Build
My "Seamless" Looking Box Build
My DD1508 T-Line Bandpass Build "Seamless" w/ Acrylic Windows (for '05 TrailBlazer)
My Stealth 8" Fiberglass Build (for '05 TrailBlazer)
My Build For A Friend's '08 Cobalt 15" BL Sealed Off From The Trunk
My feedback/references...

#15
kentb

kentb

    150db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,727 posts

Get a line driver one can be had rather cheap.

which one do you suggest?

#16
Audiofanaticz

Audiofanaticz

    Your still butthurt? Awesome!

  • Super Moderator


  • 20,313 posts

i blew it the first time from some odd reason.
but the problem is its getting very hot after playing for about 30 mins.
is that normal?

The amp should get warm after extended use, but should not be hot, where you cant touch it.

my alpines at +0 on subwoofer right now.
i didn't use a dmm, i set my gains to max with no bass boost(i know i know).

Turn your gail down! Gain is not a volume knob its meant to match your decks preout voltage to the amp, so you get full power out of the amp without clipping.

Im glad to see that your said no bass boost, bass boost is not needed at all! and only causes clipping, a little bassboost at low volumes is fine, but at max volumes its not needed. Bass boost is pretty much like the LOUD settings on a deck, you only hear a difference at low volumes and there is no difference at max volumes.

2V ftl get a diff head unit


There is nothing wrong with a 2 volt line output.

If he is running a few sub amps it maybe a problem.
But with one amp the 2 volt pre out is just fine!!

The gain knob on Hifonics amps is for 0.2 volts to 9 volts.

Is the 2 volt setting between those 2 numbers eric? yes it is. So there for you can properly set your gain to 2 volts. Now if your deck had a line output of .1 volt, yes get a new deck.

Using a deck with 2 volt, 4 volt, 5 volt, 8 volt pre amp outputs will be fine with the amp.
If your gain is set properly no matter what voltage pre amp out puts you have (2 volt in this case) your amp will work just the same as a higher ouput voltage (4 volt or 8 volt like a Eclipse headunit). The amp WILL NOT be more efficent with a 4 or 8 volt pre amp out put, nor will the amp run cooler with a higher voltage out put.

Ill agree with the other users that presented REAL advice about turning your subwoofer output up, and resetting your gain knob with a dmm (digital multimeter).

Your gain should ruffly be set about 3/4 the way up, maybe a little less if your headunit has 2 volt pre outs, and around half way if you have 4 volt. Since the Hifonics amps run a gain knob that starts at the 9 volts and turns down to 0.2 volts.
Where as other amps start at the 0.2 volts and turns up to 9 volts.

With this being done, you should eliminate clipping and max volumes, and your amp should run a tad bit cooler too.

Cheers.

#17
Audiofanaticz

Audiofanaticz

    Your still butthurt? Awesome!

  • Super Moderator


  • 20,313 posts
And just to post up about the line driver post.

Kent there is no reason for a line driver!!!

Dont waste your money, put the money towards something else needed in your car.

As I said in my post, the gain on the hifonics amp is for .2 volts - 9volts. Your output is 2 volts and falls under the gain's settings.

If you where running 2 sub amps, then a line driver maybe more needed, but you would still be somewhat safe.

#18
kentb

kentb

    150db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,727 posts

And just to post up about the line driver post.

Kent there is no reason for a line driver!!!

Dont waste your money, put the money towards something else needed in your car.

As I said in my post, the gain on the hifonics amp is for .2 volts - 9volts. Your output is 2 volts and falls under the gain's settings.

If you where running 2 sub amps, then a line driver maybe more needed, but you would still be somewhat safe.


thanks you sir! thats a lot of help.
i will definitely adjust my gains using a dmm asap.
the preout voltage on my hu is 4v.

i got a stupid question, is it okay to clip it for a few seconds?

#19
kylecm85

kylecm85

    130db

  • Members
  • 390 posts
clipping is bad no matter for how long. So i would not try to clip things it is just going to cause things to go bad.
94 lincoln mark viii h/u: kenwood kvt 614 Excelon comps: alpine type x amps: mtx 1501d mtx 4004 sub:2 DC lv4 12 wiring jl audio 0awg 8 awg sub jl audio 4 awg for mid and highs amp myspace.com/kylecm85 carstereolexington.com

#20
Audiofanaticz

Audiofanaticz

    Your still butthurt? Awesome!

  • Super Moderator


  • 20,313 posts

thanks you sir! thats a lot of help.
i will definitely adjust my gains using a dmm asap.
the preout voltage on my hu is 4v.

i got a stupid question, is it okay to clip it for a few seconds?


Ok, yea since you got 4 volt pre outs and not 2 volts like someone else talking out of their a** again..... you really have no need what so every for a line driver.
Like I said, with a 4 volt pre out your gain should be ruffly around half way, give or take a little bit.


clipping is bad no matter for how long. So i would not try to clip things it is just going to cause things to go bad.


x2, no matter when or how long clipping is bad.
Clipping makes the amp work harder. The amp will draw more current, get hotter and in return put out less power.
Not to mention that your voice coils on the subs will run hotter from the sub not moving correctly.
When you clip the speaker the sub does not move as far in and out as a non clipped power. I think you may have said something about the cone movement not being far, but I forgot.

A little clipping here and there is not enough to harm your stereo, sometimes some songs are just recorded bad and some spots of the song will clip no matter how good you got your amp set.