Jump to content

Sonic Electronix
Welcome to SMD Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Questions on Rockford Fosgate T2000-1bd Amp.


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
bigmightymike24

bigmightymike24

    120db

  • Members
  • 53 posts
Alright so I am looking for a amp for my 15" FI BL sub.

I came across the Rockford Fosgate t2000-1bd. For those who own this amp, please tell me, do you really need a high/output alternator,capacitor,and extra battery?

I can understand the extra battery and capacitor but, do you really need to purchase a high output alternator?

Or can I get by with my stock alternator...

Also if you have ever did a current draw test on how much this SUCKER eats...How many amps does your alternator have to push out when your system is pounding?


**ALSO**

I was also considering stepping down a notch to the "Rockford Fosgate T1500-1bd". The main reason I was heading towards the 2000w amp is because I was considering stepping up my subs in the future but for now I will be sticking with my FI BL 15" sub.

Please Reply Thanks

#2
thehoe92

thehoe92

    fo sho

  • SMD Gold Member

  • 6,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Roseville, CA
a t1500 will be plenty for a BL I have a t1000 on my 18 and it pounds!
as for a H/O alt first do the Big 3 and if you still have voltage issues with a spare battery it may be necessary to buy one.
DC Power can hook you up for exactly what you need so check them out.

a capacitor should only be used when you have little to no voltage drop otherwise they are just going to draw from your alt you are better off staying with batteries.

oh and the t series RF amps are pretty power hungry.

Wouldnt be thehoe92 without teh purple


#3
bigmightymike24

bigmightymike24

    120db

  • Members
  • 53 posts

a t1500 will be plenty for a BL I have a t1000 on my 18 and it pounds!
as for a H/O alt first do the Big 3 and if you still have voltage issues with a spare battery it may be necessary to buy one.
DC Power can hook you up for exactly what you need so check them out.

a capacitor should only be used when you have little to no voltage drop otherwise they are just going to draw from your alt you are better off staying with batteries.

oh and the t series RF amps are pretty power hungry.



Koo koo thanks for the advice....

Do you think the t2000-1bd will be TOO MUCH for my 15" BL? Will it be doin to much? Killin my sub??

#4
DUBIE

DUBIE

    145db

  • Members
  • 1,194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Az
  • Interests:just working with car audio..installing amps,headunits etc...all car audio stuff..

Koo koo thanks for the advice....

Do you think the t2000-1bd will be TOO MUCH for my 15" BL? Will it be doin to much? Killin my sub??

is the BL fully loaded?..if it is it will take the T2000-1bd with the right box etc.

#5
thehoe92

thehoe92

    fo sho

  • SMD Gold Member

  • 6,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Roseville, CA
you could do it but its a matter for how long you could.
as with almost all RF amps the t2000 would be no exception to being under rated which means you could be putting close to 2500 watts on a BL that takes 1000 or 1500 fully loaded.

trust me if you build the box right and keep your voltage up a t1000 or even a t1500 will slam

Wouldnt be thehoe92 without teh purple


#6
bigmightymike24

bigmightymike24

    120db

  • Members
  • 53 posts

you could do it but its a matter for how long you could.
as with almost all RF amps the t2000 would be no exception to being under rated which means you could be putting close to 2500 watts on a BL that takes 1000 or 1500 fully loaded.

trust me if you build the box right and keep your voltage up a t1000 or even a t1500 will slam



Yea I heard the t20001-bd is underrated by factory specs. I just wanted to make sure that I was getting the power I needed to my 15" BL. I wanted to make sure it was pounding right and up to my expectations. And trust me I have heard cars with some real bass. I just hope this comes through for me...THANKS...

How much do you think the RMS is for the t1500-1bd wired at 2ohms? Considered it is underrated.

#7
DUBIE

DUBIE

    145db

  • Members
  • 1,194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Az
  • Interests:just working with car audio..installing amps,headunits etc...all car audio stuff..
specs for that amp are

500W x 1 @ 4-Ohms RMS
1000W x 1 @ 2-Ohms RMS :spiteful:
1500W x 1 @ 1-Ohm RMS

so around 1200+rms

Edited by DUBIE, 20 October 2009 - 10:51 AM.


#8
thehoe92

thehoe92

    fo sho

  • SMD Gold Member

  • 6,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Roseville, CA
being under rated I would say it would do 1500 at 2 ohm
my t1000 does 1000 at 2 ohm and 1500 at 1 ohm

I think it was the t2000 that at 2 ohm it did more than at 1 ohm or at least a few of the amps did.

bottom line is they are beasts and you will be satisfied... for a while :spiteful:

Wouldnt be thehoe92 without teh purple


#9
HaMSaMMiCH

HaMSaMMiCH

    130db

  • Members
  • 303 posts
a bit over 1k probably.
Posted Image Posted Image

CAUTION!
POOR INSTALLATION MAY SHORT BOTH YOUR SYSTEM AND WALLET


#10
thehoe92

thehoe92

    fo sho

  • SMD Gold Member

  • 6,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Roseville, CA
I just realized something after reading the past 3 posts.
NO ONE WILL KNOW!

just know it will do rated power and then some

Wouldnt be thehoe92 without teh purple


#11
may03LT

may03LT

    BLUE MOON

  • SMD Gold Member


  • 4,144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:302

do you really need to purchase a high output alternator?


I upgraded my alt before installing the first T2K.

Never did a draw test.

Nice amp, you won't be disappointed if you decide to run it.
Posted Image

#12
DUBIE

DUBIE

    145db

  • Members
  • 1,194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Az
  • Interests:just working with car audio..installing amps,headunits etc...all car audio stuff..

I just realized something after reading the past 3 posts.
NO ONE WILL KNOW!

just know it will do rated power and then some

SHARE IT BRUH!!! :friends:

Edited by DUBIE, 20 October 2009 - 11:06 AM.


#13
lowblueranger

lowblueranger

    130db

  • Members
  • 402 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa
  • Interests:My Family- Lowered trucks/cars, Car Audio, Fast Bikes!
I've had them hooked up before with factory alt and battery. It was on a 120 amp factory alt and it did fine, not much voltage drop. I now have factory 120amp alt. big three done and powermaster battery in the front and rear and it does better, hardly any voltage drop. Now if you getanother amp for mids and highs then it will need more juice from the alt. The new power series are much easier on the electrical, I'm switching to T1500-1.
Alpine INA-W900 Rockford Fosgate Punch 200ix Rockford Fosgate power T1500-1 Sundown SA-10 x2 Focal 6x8's front Rockford Fosgate Power T1682 rear Rockford Fosgate and Stinger Wiring Powermaster D3400, S680

#14
bigmightymike24

bigmightymike24

    120db

  • Members
  • 53 posts

I've had them hooked up before with factory alt and battery. It was on a 120 amp factory alt and it did fine, not much voltage drop. I now have factory 120amp alt. big three done and powermaster battery in the front and rear and it does better, hardly any voltage drop. Now if you getanother amp for mids and highs then it will need more juice from the alt. The new power series are much easier on the electrical, I'm switching to T1500-1.


What do you mean the t1500-1bd is easier on electrical? In what way?

Connections wise or....

#15
CaptainzPlanetz

CaptainzPlanetz

    170db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 4,673 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portales, New Mexico

What do you mean the t1500-1bd is easier on electrical? In what way?

Connections wise or....


Probably because they are more efficient at making power than the older models, so it takes less current to make the same amount of power and older model would need.
ǝɯɐƃ ǝɥʇ

Trolls never learn............

All BS aside, If I see one more comment in here that is NOT about the pre-sale, I will start the vacations. And that includes the trolls feeding the trolls.

YOU THE ONE THAT SOUND LIKE A OGER AND HUMPBACK/TROLLS?


Add "SMDLIFER" on Xbox LIVE to play with other SMD members.

#16
imkingg714

imkingg714

    Forum N()()B

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

do you really need to purchase a high output alternator?


I upgraded my alt before installing the first T2K.

Never did a draw test.

Nice amp, you won't be disappointed if you decide to run it.

i just got one, and im a lil disappointed..
something might be wrong with it or something cause my t1500bd sounds louder..
San Diego Chargers#1

#17
may03LT

may03LT

    BLUE MOON

  • SMD Gold Member


  • 4,144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:302


do you really need to purchase a high output alternator?


I upgraded my alt before installing the first T2K.

Never did a draw test.

Nice amp, you won't be disappointed if you decide to run it.

i just got one, and im a lil disappointed..
something might be wrong with it or something cause my t1500bd sounds louder..


So did you remove the t1500 and install a t2k or did anything else change?
Posted Image




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (3)