Jump to content

Second Skin Audio
Welcome to SMD Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Reconing JL Audio W7


7 replies to this topic

#1
Bad_By_Law

Bad_By_Law

    Forum N()()B

  • Members
  • 2 posts
I have recently gotten a JL 13W7 in some trading and payment, it needs reconed but as most people know JL is pricks about there stuff and i have to give over $400 just for the re-cone then pay for shipping so i was thinking of using a 15inch fi audio q recone. Then i can make of for the xmax lost since a W7 has 32mm and a FI Audio Q has 28mm so the 2 inchs bigger should make it better. I know how the recone its just my voice coil that fried so i might just repair the voice coil? I'm guess you all know that the screws go underneath the foam so it should all work fine. What do you think? do you have any better ideas? Do you know anyone who could do it? Maybe i should just use this magnet on another sub? i could also get a basket with the FI Audio Q recone and just use the magnet with the basket but not exactly sure how to do that? thanks for your time

Edited by Bad_By_Law, 01 November 2010 - 07:03 PM.


#2
Decaf

Decaf

    Coffie w/o the Hype

  • SMD Gold Member

  • 6,903 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Illinois

I have recently gotten a JL 13W7 in some trading and payment, it needs reconed but as most people know JL is pricks about there stuff and i have to give over $400 just for the re-cone then pay for shipping so i was thinking of using a 15inch fi audio q recone. Then i can make of for the xmax lost since a W7 has 32mm and a FI Audio Q has 28mm so the 2 inchs bigger should make it better. I know how the recone its just my voice coil that fried so i might just repair the voice coil? I'm guess you all know that the screws go underneath the foam so it should all work fine. What do you think? do you have any better ideas? Do you know anyone who could do it? Maybe i should just use this magnet on another sub? i could also get a basket with the FI Audio Q recone and just use the magnet with the basket but not exactly sure how to do that? thanks for your time

unfortunately, u basically have a paper weight

recones dont work like u think, the w7 has a 3.5" voicecoil, this is VERY uncommon and no regular audio company caries them... this was part of jl audio's plan, it forces you to go thru them for 99% of customers

a recone consist of a new surround/cone, spiders, voicecoil, lead wires, and its extremely difficult to remove once assembled together

u cannot bolt on a basket after the soft parts have been installed on this sub either

david moore at fixmyspeaker.com used to be able to fix these, but he no longer has parts/wants to mess with jl

im unaware of anywhere else to get it reconed, otherwise id snatch up 2 blown 12s from my buddy

so try to sell it or start saving

TeamSundown-sig.jpg


#3
Chode69

Chode69

    The Choded One

  • Admin



  • 23,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tree oh too!!!
  • Interests:bass, sex, girls, partying, 4 wheeling, bon fires, drinking, playing skii ball, butt sex, bbqs, my AWESOME Team (Team Deadly Hertz) , xbox 360
first off don't make 2 threads with the same post...second do not post in the new announcements section

Nick will bang just about anything.....LMAO....pun intended

i was like DAMN, Chode is hardcore! he makes james look like a friendly person LOL!

I dont know who is worse with the buttholes Chode or Big P...

 

Posted ImagePosted ImageTeam Deadly Hertz / Team DC Audio / Team XS Power / Team Second Skin Posted Image2010 DC AUDIO MEMBER OF THE YEAR!!! DuckretaryFEAR THE DUCK DuranghoChodes Blowthrough BuildYoutube vidsMuh WifeNeed DC Audio? Hit me up for pricing!!!


#4
STEvil

STEvil

    155db

  • Members

  • 2,061 posts
  • Gender:Male
DC carries 3.5" coils iirc.

If you're lucky you might be able to acetone the coil off the cone and replace it with a DC coil.... but aligning it would be a real bitch.
MickyMcD - "Capable of making some serious trouser flapping volumes at where's-my-testicles frequencies, the Servo-Drives used to be fairly jaw dropping..."

Any time you have have a power wire next to your frame put some rubber hosing (or cut up an innertube) around it. The wire is bound to wiggle (due to driving or flex) and the casing will eventually wear through.

Hammerdown... 1%
 
no links to outside websites, business related FB/YT pages allowed.

#5
TeamHT

TeamHT

    The FLUFFY eskimo

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 10,420 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Anchorage, Alaska
  • Interests:Defining Entertainment, Club AK, Team Head Turners, Team Pride, & North Coast Customz
why would you want a blown w7 in the first place...

Tell me...does this smell like chloroform to you?


#6
STEvil

STEvil

    155db

  • Members

  • 2,061 posts
  • Gender:Male
i'd take one for playing with
MickyMcD - "Capable of making some serious trouser flapping volumes at where's-my-testicles frequencies, the Servo-Drives used to be fairly jaw dropping..."

Any time you have have a power wire next to your frame put some rubber hosing (or cut up an innertube) around it. The wire is bound to wiggle (due to driving or flex) and the casing will eventually wear through.

Hammerdown... 1%
 
no links to outside websites, business related FB/YT pages allowed.

#7
AI James

AI James

    know it none.

  • Guests

  • 25,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fresno, California
  • Interests:Car Audio, Car Customization, RC Cars, Computers,
a recone through JL is 375

#8
slim2fattycake

slim2fattycake

    135db

  • Members
  • 626 posts
If its a 12" w7 then its easier but not simple. the 12w7 has 3" coil but outer diameter of the coils is weird so its not readily available. And yeah like someone else stated, its not just putting the coils in and that's it. Theres a gap that you gotta fit the coils in and the gap on a w7 is really tiny. Really not worth it for 10" or 13.5" or whatever the hell they have.

Edited by slim2fattycake, 05 November 2010 - 08:31 AM.

SPL-Lab REP

Car: 1996 [color=rgb(46,139,87);]Honda [/color]Accord F22B1 Coupe
Suspension: [color=rgb(139,0,0);]Megan Racing[/color] Full Street Coilover Dampener Kit
Alternator: [color=rgb(255,0,0);]DC Power[/color] XP 270
Batteries: [color=rgb(255,255,0);]XS Power[/color] D5100 & D3100
Wiring: [color=rgb(0,128,128);]KnuKonceptz[/color] & 2/0 Welding cable
Headunit: [color=rgb(160,82,45);]Kenwood [/color]KDC-MP642U
Components: [color=rgb(169,169,169);]Hybrid Audio[/color] Clarus
Amplifers: [color=rgb(211,211,211);]Lanzar [/color]OPTI250X4
Subwoofer: 2 [color=rgb(105,105,105);]Sundown Audio[/color] E8.v2
Deadener: [color=rgb(192,192,192);]Sound Deadener Showdown[/color]
SPL Meter: [color=rgb(0,128,0);]SPL-Lab[/color] RTA Pro meter

[color=rgb(255,165,0);]Want an SPL meter for a lot less than the cost of a Termlab, but just as accurate and has the same features? PM me.[/color]

[color=rgb(105,105,105);]CA ref: (enellz, 92c1v1c, el_chupo_, Thixx, Kraudio12, SethPhillips, NJack2AF, JamesKarr, ExpoSport, 01 S 10, wgsj_fortvalley, fast306stang, Lakota, blackga, TheLow, adrian1185, the727kid, rudy, sundownz, lmllopez, traksta15, gentlejax, satchel50207, Bigthangs, Goindef154)
CACO ref: (extremechevyman67, ghostmechanic, FatBoy2, TheMan007, bdufner, 350zkid, ironb, bmansbach)
SSA ref as phi: ( shizzzon, porkchop, onebadmonte, stevemead, TRP, ///M5, denim)
SMD ref: (DC Power Rob, Nathan@XSPOWER, Jman08)[/color]

[color=rgb(105,105,105);]And then some.[/color]




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users