Help with head unit please!

Hello i recently purchased a Pioneer AVH-X3700BHS Head unit. And I wired it according to Metra’s wiring harness. I have the power red wire connected to the 12v ignition wire (red to red) and the memory wire connected to the yellow (yellow to yellow) for some reason when I turn off my car, my head unit stays on. I’m fairly new at wiring and installing head units so I’m kind of confused as to why my head unit will not turn off when I turn off the ignition. Is it possible for the head unit to be getting power from elsewhere? Or is it as well possible that the Metra wiring harness has a few wires turned around wrong? Or can something be wrong with the car? I know with the factory head unit, no problems occurred. Sorry for all the questions but I’m just confused. I’m installing it into a 2016 Kia Soul. I’m hoping someone here can help me diagnose my problem. TIA

does it turn off when you open your door? how do you know the red wire you connected it to is an ignition wire? did you check the voltage on that wire with the car off before you wired it?

2 hours ago, reedal said:

does it turn off when you open your door? how do you know the red wire you connected it to is an ignition wire? did you check the voltage on that wire with the car off before you wired it?

Tried opening and closing the door, then waited in the car to see if it would eventually shut off and it did not. I didn’t check the connections yet I was going off of what it said on the back of the Metra wiring harness. And on the wire itself it’s labeled “12v ignition”