Jaloosk & the 2001 Mitsu Eclipse Spyder

OK So I got this Spyder a couple of years ago. I initially installed a somewhat crappy system in it until I could afford something better. That time has finally come, after a lot of hard work and saving. I'll start this build log off with the history of the first system, then hopefully next week I'll have some more current updates.

The car:

P1000928.jpg

P1000930.jpg

WashWax1.jpg

WashWax2.jpg

WashWax3.jpg

WashWax5.jpg

The original "system" (in it when I bought it; notice how everything is nice and secure...

20100104-DSC02813.jpg

20100104-DSC02815.jpg

-----------------------------Start of build, March 2010----------------------------------

I've been a car audio hobbyist for the better part of my life, and because of that my first major project is completely replacing the sound system in the Spyder.

My goals are simple:

Loud & Clear.

Basically, I want to have enough headroom to be able to listen at healthy volumes on the highway with the top down. It's not going to be a flashy install; I want it to be fairly stealth for the most part. Oh, and I (hopefully) want to get a set of golf clubs in the trunk when it's all said and done too.

Now because of my family responsibilities, I'm on somewhat of a tight budget, so most of the gear I'm using has been "repurposed". (read: used) Because of that, some of the pieces aren't exactly pretty, but their sonic character has not been compromised, so I'll just need some lipstick & mascara to pretty it up. So to that end, let me introduce you to the equipment that's being installed:

Amplifiers:

Soundstream LW5.830, a 5-channel amplifier, which will be bridged; sending 280w RMS to the front two channels, and 270w to a sub channel. The sub channel will not be used. This amplifier will be powering the front speakers; two ID Horns, and two CDT 6.5" midbass drivers.

DSC02857.jpg

Sub Amp: