Is audacity good enough to prevent clipping?

If I make sure the song never hits the red line (indicating clipping) is that good enough?

Or is it a start at least?

Several songs I was playing loud were clipping in audacity.

I have turned the DB down a bit, and boosted the bass frequency 5db on each.

Does this sound ok to do?

i suck men dry...email me for details

If a song is clipping before you even touched it, you cannot remove clipping. It's virtually impossible

What if the clipping stops when I put the gain in audacity a little lower?

Because the only thing I ever see is the song getting too loud and going passed the bars and then they turn red.

Even if you don't see red bars, zoom in and you will see squared off waves at the peaks. Trust me.

Exactly what do I do?

And what causes clipping from songs?

Just a question, since im pretty new to the whole "clipping songs" age aka: ipod, mp3 players... Can a clipped song really damage your system if your system isn't clipping? If that makes any sense... I've had songs that i've downloaded, and sounded different/crappy, but never hurt my system before... Just curious...

Also wondering this.

I mean, if you don't notice it, how can it be bad?

What causes it? Dumbass dj's and mastering guys. Is it harmful? Depends on the severity and duration of the clipping. Example, Gucci mane swing my door will most likely cause some sort of damage

What causes it? Dumbass dj's and mastering guys. Is it harmful? Depends on the severity and duration of the clipping. Example, Gucci mane swing my door will most likely cause some sort of damage

wow dude...now I've NEVER had a song that bad. Even at full volume, I've only ever heard the 2-ways distort a little bit, and then I turned the volume down.

But I'm still unsure of what you were talking about in audacity...