Infinite baffle sub woofer

Hey guys, i'm new to home theater audio, and i'm looking to install a 15 " infinite baffle subwoofer. unfortunatly, the room im planning on installing it in, has a floor directly above it and no rooms around it where i could mount the sub in between. One idea i came up with was putting the subwoofer in a sealed enclosure with one or two passive radiators mounted on it as well, to provide "room" for the sub woofer to move. How well will this work? Can you guys recommend a better way of doing it?

Thanks in advance,

Nick

Passive radiators work like ports, but can be tuned much lower to not have to deal with the long ports.

I would not use sealed for HT unless you have a long excursion woofer, plenty of power, and a good EQ to flatten out the low end response.

I am building a (8) 18" IB in my HT right now. Never had an IB setup, so I hope I like it.

Brian

Current system:

1997 Blazer - (4) Customer Fi NEO subs with (8) American Bass Elite 2800.1s

Previous systems:

2000 Suburban - (4) BTL 15's and (4) IA 40.1's = 157.7 dB at 37 Hz.

1992 Astro Van - (6) BTL 15's and (6) IA 40.1's = 159.7 dB at 43 Hz.

Passive radiators work like ports, but can be tuned much lower to not have to deal with the long ports.

I would not use sealed for HT unless you have a long excursion woofer, plenty of power, and a good EQ to flatten out the low end response.

I am building a (8) 18" IB in my HT right now. Never had an IB setup, so I hope I like it.

Brian

thanks for the reply, how would you recommend i do this then? would the passive radiator idea work well? im not expecting rock bottom responses like some people go all out for. i haven't seen a ported sub that hit low enough for my liking.

What sub are you going to use? It could be the sub choices and box designs.

Current system:

Previous systems:

i like downfire boxs for home theatre but to each his own