Sonic Electronix

Hi everyone, this is my first time on this site/forum. I think I finally found the Car-audio experts ;)

I will get straight to the question. Is it safe to use Bassboost on your mono for your sub/subs?

I read on the net that 80% it says that if you're using Bassboost from you mono/amp to your sub, it will damage your sub, and also make the amp clip... I'm getting very confused about this. I've used the Bassboost knob on my mono since I got it, now I controll it from my car via a bassremote.

WHY I'm using the Bassboost, is cuz when I did set the gain properly on my mono, the sub barerly moved, I had around 70% volyme on my HU at that point. I boosted some bass from HU, and it helped a lot. Then I turned the Bassboost knob a little on my mono, and now the sub is hitting like it's supposed to do. Without turning up the Bassboost knob, I am not getting the real hitting effect.

It has worked out well for me, cant hear any distortion, and the sub is moving and hitting good.

My equipment:

1x Alpine 9880-R

1x SPL.D XTR12D2S 2x2Ohm (bridged to 1 Ohm).

1x SPL.D.ICE 1500D Mono 1500Wrms.

/Thnx in advance!

I'm confused. You say bass boost but mention the bass knob. They are different. Try setting your gains with the knob all the way up and then retune. OR, remove the bass knob and see if your bass hits. As for bass boost on the amp, I don't mess with it.