Second Skin Audio

Enclosure degsin help - Torres box calculator

cj120

Alright guys here's my situation back when i was a complete virgin to car audio (yes i'm a noob still btw) an installer built 2 seperate enclosures for 2 american bass XD 12's, so having gained quite abit more knowledge, i want to go about building new enclosures for them or getting higher powered subs maybe

so what i did was try to enter my specs on torres box calculator as follows

Height - 16 inches

Width - 16 inches

Depth - 22 inches

Port height - 14inches

Port width - 2 inches

Port length 16 inches

Woofer displacment is 0.136 cubic ft and wood thickness is 0.75

so based on that i got a gross volume of 2.49 cubic ft and a net volume of 1.84 cubic ft with a tuning frequency of 44.97hz

so my question is can i use the calculator the create an L shaped port with the same box size to get a lower Frequency and if so then how do i go about it, i just want an idea of how the properly enter stuff so i would know what to do when i go about building another box i know there are alot of variables like the amount of RMS on the subs and what not but for now i just wanna experiment with this same box size

P.S can someone explain the major difference between the gross and net volume of the enclosure :unknw: thanks alot for the help guys

This is how gross volume and net volume relate to each other:

Net volume = Gross volume - Port displacement - Driver displacement)

To lower tuning you can do the following:

A ) longer port.

B ) less port cross-sectional area.

C ) increase net volume.

thanks for the response

So when a manufacturer recommends the enclosure to 1.5 cubic ft do they mean the gross or net volume?

also one of my questions was how do i create an L-Shaped port with this box calculator