Second Skin Audio

Box Building, Amp Matching

Island Bumpkin

I'm currently working on adding some low end to my current car, a 99 Accord with a JVC head unit and Pioneer TS Series speakers in the front and back.

I've been eyeing the Sundown E series woofers for a couple years now, but I've never really been in the financial situation to go forward with the project (Not to mention I've gone through a few different vehicles in that time). In the mean time, I've been researching box theory and learning what I can. The last time I was working on box designs I came up with something that I thought would work, but it was just my luck I lost track of the Solidworks file. Instead of trying to recreate what I had before, I figured I'd try my hand again.

Sundown recommends a 1 ft^3 tuned to 33 Hz for their 10" when using a ported system. They also recommend having a port CSA of 16 inches, so using that info I went to mobile info labs to figure out my port size. What I came out with was a port 1 1/3" x 12" x 35.65 inches long. This was the result

3/4" baltic birch

http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps1rqilbrt.jpg

Internal structure feat. port length

http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps3ymyhsma.jpg

Iso-ish view without top and bottom

http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/a...psgfnbcbke.jpg

For rigidity, the internal pieces are a half inch longer than the exterior pieces so I can sink them 1/4 inch into the top and bottom plates.

http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/a...psifpb0pag.jpg

Volume of the box minus the port is 1.03 ft^3, which means with the sub in there (.11 ft^3 displacement) it would be around .91. Thought's on this being too small?

---