Sonic Electronix

Skar 8 Inch Sub in an E46?

Hey everyone, I'm brand new here and had a question about a Skar sub. I'm pretty new to aftermarket sound systems as well, so any help is great. 

So I am looking for a budget setup for my 325i E46, non Harman Kardon, and found this Skar SDR- 1X8D2 8 inch sub with an amp kit. I am wondering if this would be strong enough to hear for my car, as I have heard that the trunk is very well sound insulated due to the steel plating behind the seats. Some guides said that a sub that is in the 200-300 RMS range would be needed, and this little 8" is 350 RMS, so I'd assume it would work out well. In the demo videos it seems to bump pretty hard for a small sub.

Second question is on how difficult this install would be, or if I would need any special equipment for it. The kit is this Sub and Amp Kit.

Any help, or any other budget subs + amp recommendations would be great! (I'm a poor SOB and don't want to spend above $300 on this stuff currently.)

6 minutes ago, Dafaseles said:

Are you keeping your stock head unit? 

Yes. The head unit would be stock, the amp for the rest of the audio systems is stock as well. I watched a few videos on the wire splicing for an e46 and most of the videos used a PAC SNI-35 Variable LOC So it can just run the RCA lines included with *most* amp wiring kits. So stock amp-> aftermarket amp -> sub. The battery and stock amp are located in the trunk of an e46, just a FYI.

Ok. That sounds fine. Just didn't want you to think you where going to be able to hook up your RCA's directly into the stock head unit. Just be aware a lot of LOC's are temperamental. If you don't hook them up perfectly, step by step, it could give you problems. Just do your homework, watch some YouTube videos, and you should be ok

2011 Chevy Silverado under construction

My build log here. Check it out! 

7 hours ago, Dafaseles said: