Alternative power supply?

Yo! :yahoo:

I know you can use a computer power supply to run a car amplifier in your house, but can you use other power supplys than that, for example is it possible to use the power supply from a microwave oven or the vacuum cleaner instead of a computer power supply to run the car amplifier.

Personally i dont see a problem as long as the voltage is right etc etc.

Is it possible? im just curious :pardon:

I'm not an expert but I think current is the biggest issue and 2nd would probly be ah shit I just forgot the word, in long, some of those power supplies might induce noise into what you want to use.

EDIT: filter- filtered output

Isobaric - Refers to the practice of coupling two drivers together to make them act as one.

"Giving up doesn't always mean you are weak; sometimes it means that you are strong enough to let go."

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

The Destruction of a person builds character.

Terryswork001.png

LOL just save up and do it rite.

My test bench.

IMG_2129.jpg

and a nice little temperary setup for the shop while I'm doing my install.

Samlex Power Supply 23 amps continue-us (can't spell) around $100 and has been great.

IMG_2121.jpg

Isobaric - Refers to the practice of coupling two drivers together to make them act as one.

"Giving up doesn't always mean you are weak; sometimes it means that you are strong enough to let go."

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

The Destruction of a person builds character.

Terryswork001.png

^^^ Yep, thats the way to do it

I was on a job site where a "engineer" thought we could use power supplies to run these 60amp 12v DC servo motors

I laughed at him, those computer power supplies are good for 5amp and under I believe, but with some big amperage, its all about batteries, and battery chargers