Second Skin Audio

ported clamshell help/build

irpirate

so i bought 16 12's today and want to put them in a ported clamshell. what neofrog did with his 16 10s is kind of what i want to do. iz sexy

something about lots of subs is just sexy to me. ive read through several builds, berniebp87s, colins, and neofrogs.

im relatively new to building, figuring out tuning for enclosures (and car audio in general for that matter lol) and have relied on torre's program to do the calculating for me. ive seen look at it like a normal ported box except itll tune lower, build and rebuild till you get it right, t-line quarter wave stuff and am just confused as hell right now.

also read neofrogs lets talk acoustics here he said:

I built it to have 1 ft³ per sub, and 5.9 in² of port per cube for control. The baffles are at 14° with a 7" separation in the back. Port is tuned to 34.7hZ.

This gives me close to 12 ft³ inside the clam as well for a reference. I figured matching the air space would play a role in the response of the horn.

which honestly confuses the shit out of me even more lol

ill gladly pay for someone to help me design a box if thats what it comes down to.

the subs are infinity reference 1262w's 300 rms each. mounting depth 6-3/8". max dimensions are 37.5 width, 48 depth, 33 height.

please help meeeee T_T ive really been wanting to do a build like this but dont have/cant find/have trouble understanding the knowledge.

thanks all <3

*edit i tried doing a sketchup but the programs kicking my ass :(

hiiiiiiii
2002 4runner - buncha speakers n amps n shit (gone)
1994 astro - more stuffz

update: pretty sure all the pic links in the logs are broken lol.

ma slop garb build log
16 12's 4th order

4runner rebuild in progress
clickkk meeeee!!!! 4 18's 6th order

UBL - clicky

http://www.youtube.com/yyj11589

lots of hater kids here. Pay no attention, they just want 89,000 watt subs for 3.50