Okay so heres the deal. I got a 1 1/2 year old pitbull yesterday. He is very loving and playful but hasn't had much time taken up with him (been on a chain most of his life), so he is doesn't listen at all. I spent most of the day with him today, and when I "can" get his attention I can get him to sit on command. The problem is getting his attention and keeping it for more than a few moments. I have no experience with these breeds but have always wanted one. Do any of you current or former pitbull owners have any advice for me? Any pointers on effective training tools?

System tear out has begun...Out with the old

i have a iq of 128 i graduated at the top of my class tell me how im reatrded you are the 1 thats dumb as hell you can't even spell

Look at the underlined text hahahahahahahaha

I think of it as the virgin losing the virginity technique

not just jumping in to it, and pounding away, but going at it slowly over time, to get to that full extreme

l_59eb24b3e2d14283a9f1baf0746be9e0.jpg

The wife and I have 3 Pits, all inside dogs, sleep in the bed- are all rescues. Each one has its own personality and way we have to deal with them.

You are at an immediate disadvantage with training because he is already a year and a half old- but don't let that discourage you or stop you. It isn't like it can't be done, it will just be a bit slower than say if you got him as a puppy.