Sonic Electronix

do passive crossovers affect impedance

okay so i'm trying to get into home audio, and i want to construct my own floorstanding speakers (towers) from scratch basically.

i'm trying to self educate myself a little on how this all works. recently i've hit a road block trying to understand crossovers. i've been reading this article and it has filled me in pretty well. it has left me with a couple questions though.

1. can a crossover affect the total resistance? if so, how does this work, and how does one figure out what the resistance is and how to figure it into the equation to figure out the final (nominal?) resistance?

2. what the hell is phase shift, how does it work, and how can one work with the (numerical?) value?

my knowledge is likely mediocre at best. so if someone could please enlighten me in very basic terminology, that would be great. also, i have little knowledge on how resistors work. after reading a couple articles i remember seeing that resistors can be another factor in the building of a floorstanding speaker. IIRC there was something about how certain drivers' responses spike at certain frequencies and that resistors are used to essentially even out the volume levels across the drivers. is there any truth behind this? if so how does it work?

thanks

Edited by 412 CVX

Just say no to Ground Pounder Customs.

More box builds

some cars do over 170db with one sub, so clearly my two 12"s can do that in my car, with my knowledge too! look out bitches!

I'm with captain stupid.

I would really appreciate some help on the matter. more so on how to build your own crossover ATM. like how to select crossover frequency, what parts to buy, resistance... etc.

i've been at this for like 5 hours now and i can't figure it out

More box builds

some cars do over 170db with one sub, so clearly my two 12"s can do that in my car, with my knowledge too! look out bitches!

I'm with captain stupid.