Second Skin Audio

Mtx Mzs1204 Review & Enclosure Build

I don't know how a lot of you can photo your installs and builds so thoroughly, I just wanted to get the job done. Since this is my first time photoing the building process it excludes some key pictures that I should have taken, like the subwoofer out of the box and building the port.

MTX MZS1204 Review

To start things off, I found an MTX MZS1204 at a very affordable price, $90 after tax including a 2 year service plan, this was about 1/3 the original price. I am powering it with my Rockford T1500-1 that gives it 666 @ 4ohm 300 watts more than mtx recommends which is also why I got the service plan.

This is my first MTX subwoofer, and all I can say is MTX won't get my vote for manufacturing, at least their lower line subwoofers won't. Already doubting the quality of the subwoofer due to the thin steal basket and little magnet with no air vent, I connected it up to my mono amp. Once turned on it gave off the worst clinking noise I have ever heard, I took it out of the enclosure and found that the spider wasn't even attached to the basket, the glue wasn't even visible. Now I am a bit irate, so I did what any irate audio enthusiast would do, reconnected it and turned the gain up. Took about 2 minutes to start burning up, RIP MTX. I exchanged it the same day and wasn't to happy with the new MTX tc5 series I got. It had a cheaper cone material and the same backing/motor assembly as the MZS. No review on this subwoofer, all I can say is at least they glued the spider to the basket this time............Good job MTX!

MTX MZS1204 Slot Port Enclosure Build

Not much to say here accept thank you Home Depot, purchased all the MDF I needed for $5 flat. No I didn't know anyone who worked there, luckily the wood I got were left as scraps.

The build went great and the newer mtx subwoofer has some bass, nothing to brag about but at least now I have some thump and can still fit my stroller in the trunk.

Posted Image