Second Skin Audio

4th Order Box

Daddy_

Ok I might sound like a noob here but what are 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th order boxes? I know there sealed and ported boxes but what do the numbers represent? Also what are the advantages and disadvantages of having them instead of a seal and ported box?

Car: 2012 Acura TL Elite

Head Unit: JL Audio Fix86

Front Stage : Alpine SPX-17PRO

Rear Stage : Alpine SPR-60C

Component Amp : JL Audio HD 600/4

Sub : 1 12" JL Audio W7

Sub Amp : JL Audio HD 1200

4th order plays the lows (like a sealed) and the higher notes 30-50's (like ported). thats how it was explainned to me. it has a wider playing range

Alright thats understandable but what do the number mean like 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th order. So you get the best if both worlds but I dont see many people doing it with like 2 12". Usually how big of a box are these boxes with like 2 10s or 2 12s

Look:

http://www.stevemead...pass-enclosure/

This is my quick write up on 4th order bandpass boxes. I want to keep it simple and sweet! Hope this helps a lot of new people!!! I'm not a expert but from my research this is what I believe is best. I wouldn't mine if someone has more to add!

A 4th order is simpler then it seems... You have a sealed section witch develops the lower frequencies and a ported section that develops the high end frequencies. The advantage to this type of box is you get the tight clean bass everyone loves from a sealed box but with a wider range of frequencies and higher output!

There are a couple of awesome programs out there that help with the design of a 4th order. My personal favorite is bass box pro 6. You can get it for around $150 at parts-express.com. If you do a lot of car audio or home audio this is well worth the investment!!!