More power or new box?

Chance_P

Hey guys I just entered my first comp with my first build. I hit a 143.7 on music at 46hz. My box is 7.35 cubic feet tuned to 36hz. Amp is a hifonics zrx2000.1d. Woofers are 2 soundqubed sdc2.5 15's. Im not really sure if I should put a better amp in or try and build a different box, tuned higher? I really don't want to lose lows below 35hz. Vehicle a 99 jeep cherokee. 160 amp alt and deka intimidator 34 under the hood. 1/0wiring and big 3. I was hoping for a 145. Like I said this is my first build and first time on a TL, pretty new to the hobby. My box was originally 8 cube at 34hz but it sounded a little sloppy so I added some 2x6's inside to decrease the volume and it made it sound better but I have no idea what it did to my spl output.

I would honestly do both. Many factors can play into why it didn't score higher. Is the box taking up all the cargo space and is only a few inches from the hatch? Is there enough port area? Where is the port? What was the voltage drop. Did you do a sweep to find your peak? Or was that the first and only song you played? At least you know where you are and what to do to get that score. First, build a new box. Read up on some stuff before of course spending time building a new box. The box you have sounds like a decent size box. But don't know the port area and I would imagine it taking up a lot of space. I had an hdc3 15 on an aq 2200 @1 ohm at my first comp. Hit a 144.7 @44 hz in a blazer. 4.5 cu.ft. box I believe; around 100 sq inches of port. Like 4.5"x16.5" slot port. had easily 6-7" from the back hatch. Kept working at it, right now official score is 149.7 on a single 15, little bit more power.

I will say, if you're serious about competing, don't change anything until you have a meter. I lost over a db once I put sound deadener in, it sounded better but the meter didn't agree. Got most of it back.

'11, '12, '13, and '14 Meca Street 2 AL State Champ

AL Meca Street 2 Record Holder(151.6)