Sonic Electronix

High Pass filter or Full range?

I don't know where else to ask this so I put it in General. For my speakers they are all around Polk Audio DB's(I think). The front are component and the rear are coaxial. This car was my dads and he installed all of this stuff himself so I have no real knowledge of whats behind the panels and doors. Anyways, for a while now I've been annoyed that I wasn't getting much bass from the front door speakers. I like to crank the deck up to max volume on some songs and yet i never really got the sense that there was bass coming out of the 6.5in woofers in the doors. Today I went to the amp and turned the HPF off onto full range and messed with the x-over and gain a bit so there was finally bass in the doors, and quite a lot of it for the levels not being turned up really. My dad tells me now that I shouldn't turn it up loud because of that and with all these videos I see of people turning the volume way up with the mid woofers doing a lot of work, I question whether or not it really will hurt it if I keep turning the volume up. Which is why I came here. I'm assuming the speakers in the front are something along the line of these http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_9109_Polk-Audio-db6501.html because they are cheaper and I'm sure that mine are definitely polk and definitely components. He bought them 4 years ago. I don't know what brand the amp is but he told me its 75w RMS x 4. Here is a picture of the amp, out of box (sorry). And I know there is two sets of coaxial, because there originally was two sets in the car, but 3 of them blew so he bought a set of components to replace the from and just left the one other blown one in the back panel (it still works, just the tweeter blew) http://gyazo.com/c8bd0944b05aca178cbfe7ca87a2449b