Second Skin Audio

Help! 4th Order Build

This is my first time building and designing a 4th Order bandpass box. I've got the basics down. Have the seal portion to manufacturer specs and have the ported section to twice that.

Now, my issue is the tuning. I don't understand it. Not that I don't understand how to tune a port, I just don't understand what I am able to play in frequencies through it.

From what I've read and heard about, I should get a range of frequencies that I can play above and below the hz of the tuned port. How can I find out this range so I can set my HP and LP filters correctly. I don't want to build multiple ports and guestimate because I really don't have the money to purchase new sub's.

Any help on this tuning thing would be really helpful.

2001 Tahoe

No system. Not even aftermarket headunit.

Not trying to pick on you, but if all your understanding is you need to make the ported side twice the sealed side, you don't understand 4th order bandpass boxes and you don't have the basics down.

What range of frequencies you are going to be able to play are going to depend GREATLY on the particular specs of your sub/s. Different subs will give very different results. What subs are you going to be using? What amp? What is your motivation for using a bandpass box in the first place?

"Nothing prevents people from knowing the truth more than the belief they already know it."
"Making bass is easy, making music is the hard part."

Builds:

U7qkMTL.jpg  LgPgE9w.jpg  Od2G3u1.jpg  xMyLoO1.jpg  9pAlXUK.jpg

Not trying to pick on you, but if all your understanding is you need to make the ported side twice the sealed side, you don't understand 4th order bandpass boxes and you don't have the basics down.