Sonic Electronix

Router for sub box building?

So, I'm going to be building the box that the wonderful Joe X so awesomely designed for me. I'm gonna be buying the tools I need to get the job done and right now I am looking at routers. I've never used a router before so I'm pretty ignorant on it. What router would be best? Is there anything in a router I should look for specifically? Thanks in advance for the help!

https://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW618PK-12-AMP-Fixed-Base-Variable-Speed/dp/B00006JKXE/ref=sr_1_2?s=power-hand-tools&ie=UTF8&qid=1473945849&sr=1-2&keywords=dewalt+router

just look at the main brands. I know a lot of people on here have porter cable routers, I have a Dewalt, some have ryobis. I think the Porter cable will probably be the most popular, with maybe the DeWalt in second.

2007 Ford F-150 Reg. Cab. Flareside
250 Mechman Alternator
Sky High Car Audio Big 3
XS Power D3400
Rockford Fosgate 1/0 amp kit
Rockford Fosgate T1500-1bdcp
Rockford Fosgate T400-4
DC Audio Lvl 4 12"
Rockford Fosgate Punch 6.5" component
Rockford Fosgate Punch 6x8
Pioneer AVH-P2300DVD
SMD Volt Meter

I burnt up my Dewalt router, twice. At this point Dewalt tools in general are on my "no buy" list.

Everything I get now is either Bosch or Makita, I have two of these routers and they are great:

https://www.amazon.com/Bosch-1617EVSPK-4-Horsepower-Variable-Collets/dp/B00005RHPD/ref=sr_1_1?s=power-hand-tools&ie=UTF8&qid=1473949988&sr=1-1&keywords=bosch+router

"Nothing prevents people from knowing the truth more than the belief they already know it."
"Making bass is easy, making music is the hard part."

Builds:

U7qkMTL.jpg  LgPgE9w.jpg  Od2G3u1.jpg  xMyLoO1.jpg  9pAlXUK.jpg

I love my DeWalt, but Triticum uses routers a lot more than I do. As far as bits go, you can go to mobile solutions, sonus, etc. Since I don't often build boxes I use whiteside router bits, I was recommended them by another member here, and so far they have worked well.

2007 Ford F-150 Reg. Cab. Flareside