Sonic Electronix

Changing my system before I even have it half way done, OCD kickin in

Lets just say Im pretty OCD when it comes to building things. I have been building the setup for my truck for a few months now. All that is really left is purchasing the alternators and bracket. Getting a few batteries and finishing up the wiring. The subs are here. The amps are here. The mids and highs are installed except for the door panels that I still need to get from the junk yard.

Now im obsessing about going even bigger and trying to fit 4 15's in the back of my Silverado. All under the window line, no wall. Im going out now to do some measuring and if I think it will work I just may scrap the box I already have built and just go for it. Fill the whole back of the extra cab with woofers. If I wire my subs down to .5 I have all the amplifiers I need, just need 2 more subs to fill the holes.

Anyone else do shit like this. Just build stuff with sort of a plan and just scrap everything mid stream to build something else. Having 2 15's sounds like it would be good, 4 15's seem like it would be awesome.

Link to what I have done so far in in my sig if you want to check it out.

I was surprised. I can actually make this thing fit. 4 15" subs facing up with the port up. The port will either have to face up or foreward firing into the backs of my seats, didnt think that would be a good idea.

Laid it out on a piece of MDF.

img4687r.jpg

I will get about 1/4 in gap between the gaskets and from the edges of the box. I can get the 16 cubes of air space and have room left under the box for the amps and maybe the batteries. Depends on how much displacement I need for the port.

This is what I need input on.

I see Steve and a few other people on here with 4 18's and small ports. Smaller than what im coming up with for 4 15's.

I figured I would need an 8 X 24 port 13.5 inches deep for 36hz tuning, 12 sq inch per cube.