Jump to content

Welcome to SMD Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

How To Do The Big 3: Tutorial


304 replies to this topic

#1
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
How to do the Big III

The Big III is a simple electrical upgrade for any vehicle to improve a better electrical charge from the alternator to the battery. Your stock electrical system consists of 3, or more, wires hence the term “Big III”. These are the main wires for your electrical charging system. The actual “upgrade” is we are adding a thicker gauge wire to the system.

*Notice I said add and not replace, reason behind this is the current will automatically take the path of least resistance, easier to do. You are more than welcome to replace all wires but be sure you do it properly otherwise you could harm the ECU.

The 3 wires are:
- Positive from battery to positive from alternator
- Negative from battery to ground
- Engine block to ground

The materials you will need are pretty simple.

- ~ 6-10ft of wire((I suggest 1/0 awg ), depending on vehicle length varies
- 4-6 Ring terminals
- socket set or a crescent wrench
- Heavy duty wire cutters
- Fuse holder with appropriate fuse rating
- Sandpaper or file

Optional materials
- Special Battery terminals that accept 1/0 awg wires.
- Wire Loom (I highly recommend you use some sort of loom to protect the wire)
- Zip ties
- Heat shrink tubing
- Electrical tape
- Screws
- Screwdriver

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Steps to the Big III:

Step 1 Disconnect the Negative wire from the battery to interrupt the electrical so you can safely work with the positive wires

Step 2 Locate your alternator

Posted Image

Step 3
Find a safe path to run your wire from the alternator positive to the positive on battery and measure how much wire you will need, cut wire to your needs. Strip the end of wire, apply a ring terminal, and crimp. I am taking the extra step and going to add wire loom and heat shrink tubing so it is protected since my wire is relatively close to engine.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Step 4
Unscrew nut on alternator positive and place your wire that you just had on there (a spacer may be required) screw nut back on tight, but not over tightened. Secure wire with zip ties to whatever path you have selected, if you choose to.

Posted Image

Step 5
Now before we take other end of wire and connect it to battery we must locate a spot for a fuse holder. Go ahead and bolt/screw the holder. I don't recommend putting fuse in holder just yet, i know in photo mine is already in there.

Posted Image

Step 6
Split wire where required (add ring terminals if needed) and connect the ends to each side of fuse holder.

Step 7 Connect the last end of wire to battery (add ring terminal if needed)

You have successfully upgraded the positive wire, now we move on to the grounds.

Step 8
Locate a good grounding spot relatively close to battery where you can bolt/screw to.

Step 9 Sand that spot so there is no paint in that small section. This will maximize the grounding point for least resistance and a solid connection.

Step 10 Locate any bolt on engine block that you can add a ring terminal too, I suggest finding the existing spot where stock wire is already connected. Measure length using wire of how much you will need. You will Measure from engine block to that earlier sanded spot (from step 9). Go ahead and add a ring terminal too both ends of that wire and connect the side where engine block is. Do not connect the other side just yet (you can but it is a waste of time at the moment since you will have to bolt another wire to that spot to in next step)

Step 11
Measure from Negative to that ground (from step 9). Cut your wire to length add ring terminal to side of ground (not battery side)

Step 12 Bolt the 2 wires together to that same ground (from step 9).

Posted Image
*ignore the wire that’s connected to battery right now, I took these photos after my big III was done.

Step 13
Apply fuse to fuse block

Posted Image

Step 14 Now this is your final wire(s) to connect to complete your circuit. Add a ring terminal to wire if necessary and connect wire(s) to negative on battery. *including stock ground, but its optional

Posted Image


Posted Image



You have successfully upgraded the ground wires; your Big III upgrade is now complete


Edited by MegaloManiac, 16 March 2008 - 06:25 PM.


#2
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
What do you think? Any revisions needed before going public?

#3
bibby>Chode

bibby>Chode

    I Squat ;)

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 4,110 posts
  • Gender:Male
only thing i see is you shoulda done this... 10 YEARS AGO!!! Slowass! ;)

#4
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
LMAO. i FAIL. no, but there were a lot of priorities i had to attend to before i had time for this. So it looks good enough?

#5
roscoe1129

roscoe1129

    Teh Hamma

  • Admin



  • 13,441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:look behind you
  • Interests:car audio/home audio/home theater
Looks good to me!

Some people need a sympathetic pat... on the head...with my hammer

[color=#008000;]Scientia est Vox[/color]

[color=#008000;]"In Nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti"[/color]Posted Image

DONT BE AFRAID TO USE THE SEARCH BUTTON!!!

SMD SUPER BUYER/SELLER

Posted Image


#6
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
We're live now :P

#7
roscoe1129

roscoe1129

    Teh Hamma

  • Admin



  • 13,441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:look behind you
  • Interests:car audio/home audio/home theater
WOOT!

Some people need a sympathetic pat... on the head...with my hammer

[color=#008000;]Scientia est Vox[/color]

[color=#008000;]"In Nomine Patris et Filii et Spiritus Sancti"[/color]Posted Image

DONT BE AFRAID TO USE THE SEARCH BUTTON!!!

SMD SUPER BUYER/SELLER

Posted Image


#8
reinke

reinke

    ATTN WHORE

  • Deleted

  • 3,258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:cleveland, ohio
  • Interests:like everyonce else here
where did you get the expandable sleeving from. i want some.
----reference's---- meade916

#9
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
parts express

#10
yama168

yama168

    120db

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Ewa Beach, Hawaii
what is the reason behind fusing the postive of batt to the alt? isnt it already fused in the main fuse box? sorry for the noob question.. Aloha
My Blood Hawaiian
My Life Hawaiian
Was Born Hawaiian
Will Die Hawaiian



____________________________

TEAM SUNDOWN HAWAII

Ufa Built

#11
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
well since you are adding wire and not routing it through that box, that fuse doesnt come into play with this wire.
you want to use a fuse on this wire, to prevent fires.

#12
reinke

reinke

    ATTN WHORE

  • Deleted

  • 3,258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:cleveland, ohio
  • Interests:like everyonce else here
i have a 04 cavalier. i want to use 1/0 gauge for the big three whe size fuse would i use from the bat to the alt
----reference's---- meade916

#13
FCsteve

FCsteve

    135db

  • Members
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bethlehem, PA
this post prolly saved my like 4 days of doing the big 3 wrong.
610EUROs

#14
dmanson

dmanson

    160db

  • Members
  • 3,107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia Beach, VA
  • Interests:Basketball, Car Audio

i have a 04 cavalier. i want to use 1/0 gauge for the big three whe size fuse would i use from the bat to the alt



whatever size fuse that the gauge wire will accomodate. 1/0 gauge will accomodate a 300 amp fuse.
2-DC Lvl 4XL 18 D.7s1-DC 5K amp(1)Kinetik HC2000(underhood) and (1)XS Power D3100(REAR)2 runs 1/0ga for power and 2 runs of 1/0ga for negative1-RFT165s components, 1-Crescendo 6.5s components...... 4 separate 1 inch tweetersRF T600-2(fronts) Punch 450.4(rear)Audiocontrol 3.1260 amp DC power alternator w/MLA Module

#15
yama168

yama168

    120db

  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Ewa Beach, Hawaii
thanks for the answer Aloha
My Blood Hawaiian
My Life Hawaiian
Was Born Hawaiian
Will Die Hawaiian



____________________________

TEAM SUNDOWN HAWAII

Ufa Built

#16
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests
a 1/0 guage wire can with stand an easy 250amps of current for bigger lengths. since my length was short(maybe 3-4feet) i went with a 300a fuse even though I only have a 200a alternator. but remember fuse on wire is to protect the wire from catching on fires.

#17
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests

this post prolly saved my like 4 days of doing the big 3 wrong.


what did you do wrong?

#18
bangin_explorer

bangin_explorer

    .C.W.B.

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 1,901 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Teh_O
does anyone use circuit brakers???? just wondering dont see many ppl using them. i use 300amp circuit brakers.... for my A.B. VFL 200.1 also. just wondering if anyone else does.
.......................................................
ROE Ref's-
Pornstar, Peas247, Speedcult, 98Tahoe,
2k1 sdime, 20blackls00, acidboy, t00sh0rt
KICKERASSMAN, TheDukey42, RapidFire89,
bass-aholic, xhilr8n , GavRiley2007, Jalat,
checkmate kstms, kingscratchie, F3RR3T,
Audiobahnfreak, + more...
SMD Ref's-
Chode69, kingsuv, pstone11, *1LOWSUV*, kbreudi, RatBass1998,
Applejack, jonathancullen89, Audioman21, Derrick824,
96saturnsl, Caps, spl explorer, littleitaly1990, tudski, sebXC,
mbdblue, j_black10, tre4chevyryda, zfrerichs...
CAC Ref's-
forceww, alex95sl2, canyouhearmatt, flores210, Anime Freak,
iamtheone, dcmcki, rcpease, jigga jatt, mytyeerinpie...

THAT IS TRUE SUB PORN...got some sexy movement and a squirter Posted Image

Subs are like titties, They need to come in pairs because ones and threes are just wrong, and larger amounts will always draw a crowd, we all have our favorite sizes, but the bigger ones are more fun to watch move. :D


#19
Guest_MegaloManiac_*

Guest_MegaloManiac_*
  • Guests

does anyone use circuit brakers???? just wondering dont see many ppl using them. i use 300amp circuit brakers.... for my A.B. VFL 200.1 also. just wondering if anyone else does.


nope. and there is a very good reason why you dont want to use one.

- every time that breakers goes off it degrades and that choice of protection is being less and less reliable every time it goes off.
- a fuse thermally burns up when it has surpassed its limit so you can deem it more reliable than a breaker to do so.

a fuse will be more reliable than a breaker, i rather spend a few a bucks more to keep a stash of extra fuses then to have a breaker that may or may not work when needed

#20
FCsteve

FCsteve

    135db

  • Members
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bethlehem, PA

what did you do wrong?



i didnt do it yet. i cant pick up my hc2000's till next month. i have never been able to find a place that actually explained it good enough to where i could vusualize it. this is by far the best explanation/tutorial of how to do it.
610EUROs



Reply to this topic



  


2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users