Second Skin Audio

are my port calculations correct

Ok so I'm completely new to ported enclosures but I thought I'd give it a go and see what I come up with, I already have the box (hacking up an old sealed enclosure which is about 2 cubic feet) and due to a lack of wood/funds the box dimensions CAN NOT change, only the port dimensions can change.

According to my calculations on Torres' box calculator my enclosure should be tuned to around 34/35Hz, but the port looks a little small to me, but then again I have no idea if it's right or wrong, can someone please check it over and advise me what to do if it's not correct, cheers.

I'm going to be putting an alpine Type R in it running at about 700 Watts, this box will only be temporary until I get my new gear.

alpinetyper.png

alpbox1.png

alpbox2.png

alpbox3.png

Way too small for a slot port, you could use 2 pvc pipes 3" dia. and 14" L for tuning of 35hz which is still small but will let you get the most space inside the box as possible till a proper one can be built.

01 Ford focus ZX3

Pioneer AVH-X491BHS

PPI PC 4800.2

Morel Maximo 6.5" x2

I made my calculations using round pvc as ports and not the slot port thats there now.

With the pvc ports you would remove the piece inside and block the small hole left where the port was and then use 2 pieces of pvc pipe 3" in diameter and each one 14" long.

The PORT DIMENSIONS has several boxes, all the top boxes are for slot, square or some other type of port and the bottom ones are for round and aero ports where the number of ports and diameter of ports come into play.

Edited by Skullz

01 Ford focus ZX3

Pioneer AVH-X491BHS

PPI PC 4800.2

Morel Maximo 6.5" x2

oh wait thats 14" for the pvc pipes, my bad lol. ideally it needs to be a slot port as I can't really get hold of any PVC at the moment, I don't really know how to use that program but from what I can see I haven't done anything wrong :nea: