Sundown Audio

Autotek SM2-1200 Amp Questions

Hey whats up everyone? I was wondering if some might be able to confirm my RMS wattage as either around 1200w or 600w. I have each sub wired down to 2ohms and the amp says it is 600w x 2ch @ 2ohms and 1200w x 1 chan @ 4ohms. I have only been in audio really deep for about a year now so I am still learning. I havent yet bought a clamp meter so I can find my true RMS but I will have one soon hopefully. As for now I was wondering which it may be 600w or 1200w? I will post a few pics below of how I have everything wired up from the amp to the box and to the back of the subs. I really appreciate any help on this one. My voltage idles at 14.4 and drops to about 13.2 when at full tilt if that helps out any. I am just trying to get the most out of this system as I can because I am saving up to upgrade to a competition worthy system. I am open to any suggestions on changing the wiring or setup. BTW the amp is set to mono and not stereo.

Thanks for any help,

James

IMG_20120501_120725.jpg

IMG_20120501_160304.jpg

IMG_20120501_160337.jpg

IMG_20120501_160559.jpg

IMG_20120501_160740.jpg

- 1997 Chevy Tahoe- Big 3 (1/0)- Dual Autocraft Batts- JVC KD-A315 HU- AQ 2200.1D- 18" AQ HDC3- Box w/ Removable Port (6ft^3 @ 36hz & 6.7ft^3 @ 42hz)- 39' 1/0 & 13' 2/0 Flex-A-Prene

My Selling Feedback

Build Log

Thanks for the reply. That is what I was thinking myself. I thought at 14.4V i was seeing maybe 600w off the amp split into 2 channels so it would end up being 300w per chan. Is there anything you can think of improving or changing that might get more out of this amp until I upgrade my system?

-James

- 1997 Chevy Tahoe- Big 3 (1/0)- Dual Autocraft Batts- JVC KD-A315 HU- AQ 2200.1D- 18" AQ HDC3- Box w/ Removable Port (6ft^3 @ 36hz & 6.7ft^3 @ 42hz)- 39' 1/0 & 13' 2/0 Flex-A-Prene

My Selling Feedback

Build Log