Folded Horn - 4" Fostex speaker - First build for one of these

This is my first time building a folded horn. I had some 4" Fostex speakers (15watts) from old studio boxes and wanted to try building a folded horn. I had some scrap pieces of wood laying around and gave it a try. Since I don't have access to a pc to use Horn Resp or have an emulator software, I started building keeping in mind a particular design I saw. I made sure not to "choke the front spacing of the woofer, and made sure that the horn line was expanding from the front of the woofer to the box opening. This being an experimental box, I threw a little paint for looks. The box is screwed together and the edges and seems are lined with wood glue to seal any possible air leaks. I had a bit of an issue with the woofer, in that apparetnly I had my circular jig for my router a little smaller than it should, and started hearing some woofer scraping inside the port. So I cut another piece of wood with the appropriate 4" opening and made sure that I didn't have that problem.

Here are the pictures:

7361571294_c7b73e87f1.jpg7361571188_76140ca45d.jpg

7361571092_12de7963d0.jpg7361571062_a2d5f98ba3.jpg

7176347317_f43c929306.jpg7361570918_3f711a977a.jpg

Bass Music Producer • Photographer • Graphic Designer

--------------

Deep Sector Boom...

The dimensions of the box :

31" height x 9" depth x 7" width

Angled board inside - 27" long and .75" thick

Horn opening at largest end - 5.5" width x 8.5" height

Left and right side - .75" thick

front and back boards - 1.5" thick

--------------

Deep Sector Boom...

Looks very well built and worked out. I've gotta' know- how does it sound? Looks really good, short of getting the finish up.

12 - 12"s in the STAY PUFT 1989 Chevy Astro

Build & Comment Log

Un-Interrupted Build Log
YouTube Channel

Chevy Trailblazer 5.1 Dolby Digital DTS Install

You have a beard of a mysterious sea captain. I would follow you to hell and back.