Sundown Audio

Gain setting. My story

CLNSHVNnDRAGGN

Seeing so many people suggesting setting gains by ear lately if they don't have the correct tools prompted me to share my story. I've been playing with car audio for about 17 years now and until yesterday have ALWAYS set my gain by ear. I was lucky and never had any issues but after the discovery I made yesterday I don't think I will ever do it again. I just finished getting everything installed in my car again after doing my motor rebuild and, as usual, went ahead and set everything up by ear and it sounded great. After taking a break to jump on SMD for bit I started thinking about clamping my sub amp to see what I was actually getting out of it. Having never done it before I hit up YouTube. After watching the first video I clicked on one for setting gains with DMM, took a few notes, did a few calculations, and decided to give it a shot and see how far off I was (and secretly hoping to get a little louder!). I started with my 4 ch which gave me great results. I initially had the gain for the front channels about half way and the rear just shy of that. When I started taking readings I was at 7v for the front channels and 6.6 for the rear. According to the calculations I should have been at 16.1 for the front and 14.8 for the rear. I made the adjustments and kept them just a little lower to be safe (until I get a DD1 in the next month or so) and they sound WAY better. I couldn't believe it. Unfortunatly that joy was short lived. After finishing getting the 4ch set I moved to my sub amp. I have been running this same deck/line driver/sub/amp combo for quite a few years now and usually set the amp gain about half and was happy with it. This time around it ended up only being about 1/3 of the way up to where it sounded good. By my calculations I should have been at 33.3v but when I checked it I was at 55v!!! I'm glad I didn't blow my subs. I readjusted and set it at exactly 33.3v which is nowhere near as loud but do