need to fix distortion and unbalaned sound with out breaking the bank.

I have never used an active cross over or EQ before so this is all new to me. I want a crystal clear and very loud stereo, when i mean crystal i mean totally clear and pure volume, Broadway style clarity of sound. i wish to be able to max out my systems potential volume with out any part of it distorting.

i want to do this on the cheap, used parts instead of new ones and let me know if i dont need something i think i do.

here are my current issues: my tweets will 'pop' every now and then, i suspect its an issue with the amp but not sure what. i tend to hear it more on highly vocal song and songs with higher frequencies so maybe its just the tweets themselves. when not popping the tweets sound great except when i turn up the volume, my mids do not max or distort but it sounds like my tweets are getting bass. they have a passive cross over that came with them, is it possible this is not filtering properly? certain songs can sound... im not sure how to describe it, the words are there but there not. its as if the sharpness of ones voice were to be removed, you would hear the enunciation of the words but not the crisp and sharp endings to certain sounds. so you know what there saying but you dont truly hear it. if that makes sense? I also get feed back when i turn on my power inverter, is there anyway to stop this?

my thought was to add a dedicated amp for the highs and the mids, my component mids have been replaced with 10" drivers but the sets tweets are still there. i got pissed when the mids were not audible in the slightest over the tweets and subs so i just cranked them until they burnt up in a puff of really bad smoke and melted stuff...

from there i think i want to buy a cross over that can set upper and lower limits for everything, highs, mids, and lows independently. does this sound like a good idea?