Sonic Electronix

Kicker Comp R noobie question ( Not Trolling )

Ok, so i may seem like an idiot but im honestly a little confused. So i bought a kicker comp r like 2 months ago and was running it off a Kenwood KAC0629s and i think it was pretty loud for such a small wattage amp, i bought a new amp Hifonics Brutus brx1100.1d and it seems only a little louder than my previous amp.. The sub says its 2 Ohms but on the basket there is a switch it says 4 ohms and 1 ohm. i currently have it at 4 Ohms because when i switched it to 1 Ohm it started to smell and i didnt know if i was going to blow my sub up lol. but im pretty new to car audio and am just wondering if the amp is running the sub at 4 ohms or 2 , and also how much louder i should expect it to be ( if its running the sub at 2 ohms from my last amp running it at 2 ohms ) if any with this new amp i spent roughly 260 for zero gauge and the amp and if its just not suppose to be that much louder from my old amp ill just return the thing and enjoy my old amp. I have to get terminals and 0 gauge for the big three, and a distribution block for zero gauge to 4 gauge for the amp ( will a distribution block from 0 to 4 have any loss of power?) and hopefully then it will be running at full power and im hoping it will be louder than what it is. plus i gotta set all my gains and stuff properly because theres so many filters that ive never even seen before. but all in all im running a Kicker CompR 12" @ (suposedly 2 Ohms, but the swtich says 4) KnuKoncepts 0 gauge (i know its mostly aluminum but i wanted to try it out if its just a big bottle neck then ill get real 0 gauge) and a custom box tuned to 32.4Hz. So yeah sorry for the long post, im not trolling just new and like to learn as much as i can to make my system the most efficient. Thanks in advance if youve even made it this far lol.