Second Skin Audio

Best box design and positioning for dual p3's in cargo van

artem.og

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the forum and fairly new to car audio, but figured this would be the best place to ask my questions. What I would like to know is what would be the best box design/dimensions and box positioning for my situation. My current setup is dual rf 2ohm 12 inch p3's in some standard ported box, powered by a t1000-1bdcp, firing toward the driver seat, all in a 2014 extended mercedes sprinter van that has about 550 cu ft of cargo volume (my work vehicle). Oh and it's connected to the factory head unit by a line out converter. Keep in mind i'm new to car audio so don't be too harsh on me if I made some massive rookie mistakes on my current setup, just give me some constructive criticism :) As far as dimension limitations, I don't really have any unless the new box is going in the same position as the current one, which in that case my height will be limited by the shelf shown in the picture, but I can make adjustments if needed. Tuning wise, I don't really know how that works, Id like a design for more focused towards the lows though. But since I know it might be hard to get good sound in such a big car, I guess anything that will give me optimal performance will be priority. And last, I would like to know where the best place to place the box would be in a car like this.

I included a pic of my current setup, and another pic of the car (which isn't mine, but same model). Looking forward to hearing your suggestions!

EpbkvsF.jpg?2

mercedes-benz-sprinter-cargo-van-3500-04

Anyone?

If it were me, I would put one of those roll down walls in right where the shelf cuts off so I would have less air space for my sound waves to fill. But I'm just a noob with random thoughts. No factual information here.

04trailblazer

XS d3400

XS xp3000

Pioneer 80prs

2 pairs of DD AW6.5 mids

2 pairs of DD AT28 tweeters

DD SS4A

DD M1D

DD 3518sc in custom kerf port box