using test tones to set sub sonic and LPF

Bayuk89

I have a question and it might be silly to u but to me its not because i dont know. I dont have an oscope to set my sub amp so i just use my DMM and a 60Hz test tone. I want to set my LPF and sub sonic filter but the dial only goes in range from 15-55 hz for sub sonic and 50-250 hz LPF. I have an idea where 28hz is on sub sonic and 80hz is on LPF but i though if i could use a 28hz and 80hz test tone with sub still hooked up and tune it with those tones, my though is that the the 28hz tone wont play lower than 28hz if i tune the amp untill i dont hear it anymore then move it up a notch and thats 28hz. How far off am i from this ? I just have the basic equipment no fancy stuff yet...

you could try to see if anyone near you has a DD-1 if not buy one then you can set it up its better than using a DMM i am still new to this so don't really know how to set it up with a DMM i just brought a DD-1 but someone on here will be able to help you.

No, your filter starts at the frequency you set it at and it is a slope not a brick wall.

You can use a volt meter if you know what the slope is, ie 12db ,18db,24db... and look up the formula for what the voltage will be.

You could also just a dust the filter till the voltage just starts to change and then stop.

Basically, play and 80hz tone, adjust lpf and stop as soon as voltage starts to drop. Same with infrasonic.

Do this with no sub hooked up

Or buy a cc1