Sonic Electronix

The Mis-Adventures of a Blind Guy's Pre-Failed Car Audio

First and foremost, Hey everyone. I've been on the forums for not very long. However, I've been following Meade for a couple years on YT, but recently just being interactive.

To first explain the title; I am a legally blind man who has 20/800-20/1200 vision in my left eye. My right eye is totaly gone (not physically, of course). I suffer from Glaucoma and honestly, don't care to let that hold me down. The only thing that bums me about it is I will never be able to drive a vehicle. I am a drummer, so music is a bigt part of my life. All styles welcome!

I've learned alot from here and elsewhere on YT about car audio. Although having an interest in it since I was a teenager, I didn't really start foreseeing working on it until this year. I've already installed 3 systems within the past month. All which were amp and sub wiring and a re-wire of a pre-installed setup, which is what this topic's about, and actually was my first "install".

Anyways, let me set the scene for you guys;

My family purchased a 1998 Mercury Mountaineer that has a previously installed aftermarket Sony Xplod CDX-F5710 head unit and an Xplod XM-5022 2 channel 250 watt amp. The sell was so cheap 'cause apparently there was a problem with the wiring somewhere and the battery was almost always dead. When I turned on the radio for the first time, I noticed the rear door speakers were the only ones working, and for some reason, even they weren't very loud. I asked how this was setup and the previous owner said "I don't know, I had some one do it for me". I was puzzled on how an external amp was so weak. I could crank the head unit all the way up and it barely made any noise.