Sundown Audio

just starting out... need help

flarobbie

I am kind of new to the game and I really need some advice as to how to start my system. I don't know whether to start with my electrical and alternator, my mids and highs, or my subs and amp. First, let me tell you the ride, then how I need it to be. I have a 2000 durango with a 4.7. I have to keep my 3rd row seat, but i want a spl quality system. Right now it is all stock including the cd player, but i kind of want to keep it for sleeper image. I do have $1k-$1.5k to spend and am very open to advice. I really need help.

1-1.5k isnt much. When Money is no object, its better to start with the foundation of an alt, batter, and wiring. But you may have to build in pieces.

First, its good to start with a nice head unit, and upgraded battery, And also add the mids/highs and amps for them. And all of the proper wiring for that setup. Dont skimp on wiring and hope to upgrade later. Do the deck and speakers and speaker amps proper the first time.

Then with $$ you have left or new $$ coming in, you can add a nice sub amp, all the wiring, a 2nd battery, nice box and subs to the mix

Ed Lester

ShowtimeSPL Host

Showtime Electronics Video Marketing

My old Build Log
http://www.stevemead...08/#entry511451

http://www.youtube.com/showtimespl

TeamDeadlyHertz-HHREd.png

5 time dB Drag Finalist
Last ride 2007 HHR, current dB 153.5 and bass race 149.4 dB. 153.0 dB on music

New Ride, 2008 HHR SS. Build under way.
Loudest score ever = 171dB
2009 dB Drag Racing, North American Points Champion

^^ this

BUT.. if you can $$$, try to go ahead and wire for everything the first time - just so you dont have to take your 'Rango apart too many times. You almost can't over-wire a car.

Man I'm glad I didn't lock this I get to witness two retards holding hands telling each other that it'll be ok because they are awesome.