Second Skin Audio

Help me design a box for 3 SA-8s please?

Hey guys I recently purchased 3 Sundown SA-8 V2s, and need to build a box for them. Only problem is, I've never built a box before... I'm extremely motivated to learn but I need you guys' help to help me make the design.

Box specs for the subs are

.5 to .75 cubic feet per woofer

.1 cubic foot of dispacement per woofer

tuned to 30-35 hertz

My specs for the box are really broad. I'm going to be porting them. I have plenty of space in the back of my Jeep. My max dimensions are 42" length x 22" width x 18" height. I would like for the box to stretch across all 42" of the back. I plugged in numbers and 3 subs at .75 cubic feet apiece are 2.25 cubes. A box that is 42" x 10" x 9" is 2.19 cubic feet so I got it pretty close to that, but I have no idea how to do a port. I'm not sure where in the 30-35 hertz range to port it, and have no idea how to design/calculate the port. If anyone with any box building experience could please help me I would greatly appreciate it!

1999 Jeep Cherokee SportLifted on 31'sPopcorn Sounds AX6000.1 w/ AA 500.1 "THE F1X" board4 Obsidian Audio OA15's

C pillar wall @ 29hz

^^^work in progress^^^

Thanks John your design looks great its actually pretty much exactly what I wanted to do I just couldn't figure out how to make the port. I just have one question, how big are the pieces for the port? I'm trying to make my cut sheet and with your dimensions I have gotten all the pieces expect these three...

3sa3v2.png

1999 Jeep Cherokee SportLifted on 31'sPopcorn Sounds AX6000.1 w/ AA 500.1 "THE F1X" board4 Obsidian Audio OA15's

C pillar wall @ 29hz

^^^work in progress^^^

The internal depth at the port section less the port width 10.5 - 2.25 = 8.25", if you have a little more depth a simple L port design will be far easier to do though, the port being made with two pieces of wood only.

Edited by Joe X