Router noob! I need help!

Okay I finally want to invest in a router to make cutting speaker holes easier and to be able to add some nice finishing touches to my boxes and to be able to round edges. I am a complete noob when it comes to routers so I'm not even sure what I'm looking for. I know there is fixed base and plunge but don't know what I need. I'm not sure what bit you would use to cut the hole. I know there is some kind of circle cutting jig that I would be interested in getting as well but don't know where to get it. Any help/recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I was looking at a skil manufacturer refurbished 1 3/4 HP fixed base router for $50 off of Skils website. Also would I need to invest in a router table? Thanks in advance!

http://www.amazon.co...rds=Skil Router

thats what i use, you can get them for less than that link though. And you can get a box of bits for it for like $50 which will have most of what you will ever need.

you may also want to get one of these

http://www.jaspertools.com/

very handy for cutting perfect circles.

There are lots of decent plunge routers for less than $100 bucks for the weekend builder. if you are serious about doing tons of projects spend the money and get a porter cable router but they cost lots of money.

edit:

i should add that you will want a 1/4 square cut bit when you buy your set of bits, and maybe a 1/4 rounded tip bit, and various roundover bits. Roundover bits get expensive the bigger they get, fair warning.

It's nice to have 1/2", 5/8", 3/4", and 1" square cut bits for making recessed speaker rings but it can be done with just the 1/4" and several cuts.

Thank you for the info! What circle jig should I be looking at though? There were like 6 different ones lol. And yeah I'm not gonna be using the router a ton so just looking for something to get the job done

http://www.amazon.co...ords=jasper jig

that is the one i bought. Give me a sec and i will link to a speaker ring i made with it.