Second Skin Audio

How to build enclosures as a side job?

shanesauce

Before I get too far ahead of myself let me make a statement, I am by no means a audio expert but I feel like I could offer a much better product than a pre-fabricated enclosure available at both audio shops in my city.

Audio has always been a passion of mine, I helped my dad with a install in his truck when I was about 12 and since then I have been hooked. The moment I received my first vehicle I started planning my build and how I would make it sound good with very little money.

Long story short I had a much louder, cleaner sounding setup than all of the other kids in my school who had their installs done by the local shop. AND I spent about half the money that they did.

Anyways, I am looking for a way to make a bit of extra money on the side and my job schedule wouldn't allow another job because of my alternating days every week and 6pm-6am is a hard shift to work around.

What I am needing from my fellow audio nuts is information, is this idea of mine just a wacky never going to happen type of thing or is it a possibility? How can I go about putting myself out there? I feel like there is not enough people that care about audio on that level, and the people that do would just build their own enclosure.

- 2012 Mustang 3.7 Manual

- Audio under construction

post to craigslist and offer your services @ a decent price. A lot of craigslist posting for enclosures and installs are local shops now a days.

2004 Grand Prix GT

(2) 12" RE XXXs (04/05 XBL^2)

5 cu. ft tuned @ 35 Hz

MMATS HD4000.05

MMATS SQ4100

Infinity Kappa components

Juice Box black cherry

Duralast platinum group 34

1/0 KNU OFC, 2/0 welding

Singer 250A

I figured craigslist would be my first option, luckily the local shop doesn't really advertise or build custom enclosures.

And the next closest shop is like 40 miles away and they very rarely get business due to their prices.