Installing new head unit.. won't turn on

I'm fairly new to the car audio scene, but I am always willing to learn. I just purchased a new pioneer head unit from walmart to replace my dvd player I had (wasn't so friendly to my subwoofer) for my chevy HHR 06.

The H/U came with 3 main power wires: Yellow (constant 12v), Red (Acc ignition switch), and Black (for ground).

I connected all those wires correctly to my harness (which connected my DVD player without any hiccups). The only wire I didn't use from the harness was the orange illumination wire which I have taped off.

Now, when I crank my car or switch the ignition to acc the H/U will not turn on. I have checked all the necessary fuses under the hood and under the passenger console, only one fuse was blown but had nothing to do with the radio. After further investigation I decided to see what would happen if I touched the connected ACC wires with the connected Constant 12v wires and the H/U turned on, but this would drain my battery if left wired incorrectly.

What could this problem be? Just earlier today it was powering my DVD player just fine... I should also mention, the stereo shop before had my Remote amp wire wired into my ACC wire when my DVD player was connected.. but the amp always turned on and off with the car, no idea why but I thought I should mention.

the problen could be that it does not have sufficient voltage to power the head unit.. when i was installing my head unit a few months back.. i got my light tester and with ACC on on the light would turn on but the H/U didnt. i got my dmm and it only read 9 volts.. i looked for a 12 volt wire and it now works.. sucks that i thought the hu was bad so took it out before double checking