Second Skin Audio

How much of a difference does price make?

Hello there!

First I'd like to start by introducing myself. My name is Silas Williams and I am new to this forum. I got my first car a year ago and I've been filling it with all sorts of noisy things for about 8 months now. I've scavenged all over the internet trying to learn as much as possible and I think I have a pretty good understanding of most things now. Beyond fiddling with my crappy car, I produce music, occasionally make some digital art, and rarely do some game programming.

Now, my question:

My friend will be getting his car in a few months. Seeing as I'm the one who sits around studying this stuff, I'm gonna be finding equipment and installing it. We are both poor teens so I've got to do this on as low of a budget as possible. (Without buying crap equipment) My question is, how much of a difference does price make?

Specifically I'm interested in subs. I don't care about individual makes of subs. I'm more interested in brands. I want to know if a 40 dollar off-brand (pyle, boss, pyramid, power acoustik, sony?) sub will perform worse than a 120 dollar on-brand (sony?, kicker, RE, hifonics?), and how much more a great brand (sundown, DC, DD) will perform better than an on-brand. Once again, I'm specifically talking about subs, but if you have any thoughts on amps, that would be greatly appreciated.

I'm looking for actual educated answers, not these silly kicker vs. rockford arguments. I understand that the off-brands lie about power handling, but if you accept the lies as given and compensate for such lies, how big of a difference is there?

Thanks alot!

Subs = 2x Rockford Fosgate p110's in custom ported box

Amp = Rockford Fosgate 451s (115 watts rms x 2 into 4 ohms)

Rear = Sony xplod 6.5 coaxials (they were on clearance at target :D )

Front = Soundstorm 6.5's

Wire = some 8 gauge crap my friend gave me

head unit = an older alpine

I'M POOR OK :(