Sundown Audio

Setting Gains

Nipsy06

I have 2 12" SDC 2.5 Audioque subs connected to a AQ1200D Audioque Amp. They are wired down to 1 ohm and play just fine. (Its all brand spankin new and have only been playing for 3 days now). Im just afraid that I will mess up my equipment due to clipping or whatever ruins audio equipment (Im very new to car audio) I tried to set my gains in this order. Turn all filters and eq off head unit (Pioneer DEH-2400ub).... play a 40hz test tone at listening level which is about 40 as the highest and connect leads from multimeter into amp pos and neg. I set my Multimeter to the one that has a dot with the 200 on the ohms side(new to multimeters 2) Heres a pic of the multimeter I own. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Digital-Multimeter-10709/14521541 I turn all settings down and my multimeter jumps like crazy. I was told I had a bad ground. I then checked my ground using the multimeter by connecting a lead to the negative battery terminal and one to the ground. the meter reads 0.00. At this point I got frustrated and turned my gain half way between the 5v -15v on my amp setting (Straight up and down). I have the bass boost and subsonic off and the low pass filter set for that trunk to bang LOL . When Im hittin at a certain volume my clipping light on my bass knob will flicker but it wont stay on. just on the kick from the bass. Help What should I do to correct this or is everything just fine?

you dont tune the amp with the DMM on ohms. you set it to AC volts and stick the leads into the speaker output of the amp.

clipping light isn't accurate either. when it blinks you're not really clipping. sometimes when its solid on you're not clipping either. but if its solid red at like 1/2 knob and you turn it up to full, then you might be clipping.