Sundown Audio

Digital Designs M2b amp

Jerry Fang

Hey guys,

I recently bought a brand new M2b amp from my local dealer and yesterday, I went and clamp my amp to see how much it push out.. on DD website, they list the M2b @ 1700watt@1ohm on 12v, 2400watt@1ohm on 14.4v.

My setup. 2014 Pioneer AVH-X4600BT, DD M2b, 1 sundown SA8v2-d4 in a .9cu slot port box tune to 36hz, a small 600ca amp battery, on a stock 130a honda alternator. The sub is wired @ 2ohm. I got my clamp on the + speaker cable close to the amp as possible, my DDM on the speaker terminals. Played a 36hz sine wave via PA Tone through bluetooth and got a reading of 13.1A and 60.1Vac that about 787watt and impedance rise is 4.587ohm. This is my first time ever clamping an amp. Does this sound correct to u guys?? If that correct, then the M2b amp does about 750watt @ 4ohm on 13.4v. I've have system in the pass, but this be my first time to actually getting into system and doing clamp testing. Tell me what u guys think.. thanks.

picture: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8nwout62h7y2bv7/20141022_110215.jpg?dl=0

what did the amm-1 / ad-1 say?

far as i know clamping is a total crap shoot

I'm not sure what is amm-1 or ad-1 is but my clamp read 13.1A and my voltage meter reads 60.1vac. So I multiply (IxV) I got 787.31watt then I divided (v÷I) I got 4.587ohm for impedance rise. I'm not sure if its accurate or not, but thats what I came up with. I got that measurements on the first sec of a 36hz tone.

in my opinion that sounds pretty accurate.

industry standard (for MWSPL) is to use Fluke clamp meters and DMMs.

i've noticed that many other companies clamps/dmms will be off slightly, but for the most part, are in the ball park.

but anyways, rising to ~4.6ohms and clamping 787w isnt bad

'08 Chevy Cobalt coupe 2.2 base model trunk build:

2 9512iSC flatwound alum 1.5 coils

-extra 9500 spider pack

-8" platinum carbon dustcaps

1 DD Z1 (.375ohm nominally daily)

3g31 AGM

320a Ohio Gen alt

1 DD S4 4 channel