Second Skin Audio

Need Help Designing a 4th order blowthrough

Bubohms

Honestly I was just told that by someone. They said tune at around 35hz so you can get low. I'm not a professional at this stuff that's why I'm coming to the forums for help just need to be steered in the right direction with a good design. All i know is I did some research and I'm looking for a 3:1 ratio 4th order. I just want to be able to go low and be able to get loud.

Is the person who told you to tune to 35 hz the same person who told you you want a 3:1 ratio?

Not trying to pick on you or anything, there is just a lot of really bad info floating around about bandpass boxes.

What amp are you going to be powering this with?

"Nothing prevents people from knowing the truth more than the belief they already know it."
"Making bass is easy, making music is the hard part."

Builds:

U7qkMTL.jpg  LgPgE9w.jpg  Od2G3u1.jpg  xMyLoO1.jpg  9pAlXUK.jpg

No I just know I want a 3:1 ratio from my research and as far as the 35hz thing I don't even know if that's right I'm just telling you guys what I know and the amp is a Hifonics ZRX2416.1D for now that is I'm saving up for a crescendo audio BC3500D.

I would strongly suggest you be very skeptical of anyone who talks about designing bandpass boxes using "ratios". There are a couple really big problems with bandpass box ratios.

The first problem is that using a ratio implies that making the rear chamber smaller has the same effect as making the front chamber bigger and vice versa. This is completely wrong and leads to people doing silly things like make their rear chamber smaller just so they can achieve the "proper" ratio they think they need to. The front chamber and rear chamber effect how the enclosure performs very differently and they need to be sized completely independently of each other.