Second Skin Audio

38 Hz Tune...

Ok, I have been postin and searchin and even PM'ed a few here (thanks to everyone for all the responses) and when all is said and done, I will not be able to tune my planned wall below 38 hz.

So I just want to know what others with similar tune think after they have had their box/wall for a while? Is it decent for a daily driver, no SPL competitions?

I have been doing this for 15 yrs and have had mostly 15"s in sealed boxes. My current box is sealed with 4 12"s and drops off at 46 hz.

Steve The Man advised me to try to get it down to 35, but I just can't, cause I WANT 8 subs in there! And I don't want to PM him with all my pestering questions :lol: . Hopefully he's not lookin! :unsure:

So how bad is a 38 hz tune for a daily driver, 8 12"s, low powered by SMD standards, like 1K to 1500 watts running them all? I listen to mostly modern rock, but you guys have turned me on to Jeezy and Keak da Sneak, and all the other loud songs, so I have to have a little low end for those songs too.

**EDIT: it's all Hifonics subs and power, nothing special.

Edited by ptcary

PTCary

2003 SMD PT Cruiser

2011 Honda CBR 250R

2010 Mazda 3i Sport

MY BUILD LOG

Which hifonics subs?

Just the regular ones, HFI12D4, found a nice deal on them, bought 4, and figured why not get 4 more! Not an SPL sub by any means, but I'm a long time Hifonics fan, and run their amps, too, will need another for the next 4 subs though.

Edited by ptcary

PTCary

2003 SMD PT Cruiser

2011 Honda CBR 250R

2010 Mazda 3i Sport

MY BUILD LOG

What amp are you trying to add? The crunch 1100.2?

Hey I like maxxsonics stuff in general, I've sold a ton of crunch stuff and sold to family to and tend to like the stuff as well. One of my favorites are pzi2250, that thing is a beast and I was getting them for like 50 bucks brand new, I probably sold 12-15 of those last summer...

What amp are you trying to add? The crunch 1100.2?