Ok so first thing, i've tried the regular headlight polish stuff and it didn't work. i noticed my headlighs were rough and it looked like a clear coat was wearing off. I looked up ways to fix this and clear up my nasty headlights.

I saw a tutorial on how to wet sand and this seemed more logical than the toothpaste method. So i've never taken a piece of sand paper to the exterior and i have zero body work experience so i was kinda hesitant about doing this, but i sacked up and did it. It was very easy just takes time.

So heres how i did it.

Materials (what I used)

Dry towels

A few Microfiber rags/circle applicators for polishing

800,1500,2000 grit wetdry sandpaper (Purchased at autozone $15 for all three packs)

Meguiars PlasX (Purchased at Wal-mart for $6)

Meguiars Headlight Protectant (Wal-mart $6)

Bucket of car soap

Water hose or spray bottle full of soapy water

IMG_20120716_140317.jpg

1. Clean headlight with car soap to remove dirt, grime, ect. Soak your sandpapers in the soapy bucket for about 10 min.

IMG_20120716_141234.jpg

2. With the 800 grit sandpaper start sanding side to side (not up and down) while keeping the surface wet with your water hose. Sand lightly don't put a lot of pressure.

IMG_20120716_142036.jpg

3. When you feel the headlight is smooth and the yellowing/pitting is gone your done with the 800 grit. Make sure when you check the headlight, dry it with your towel to see what it actually looks like. if done correctly it will look evenly hazed by the sandpaper and all of the imperfections should be gone. pic below is after 800 grit. Make sure you dry it first!

IMG_20120716_141448.jpg

4. Wet the headlight again and start sanding with your 1500 grit. Again sand until you feel it smooth and even to check this dry the headlight. it should start clearing up a little better. Make sure you still keep your water on it while sanding.

IMG_20120716_141823.jpg