Second Skin Audio

Subwoofer options/Limited space for ground pounding bass

Looking for ground-pounding bass in limited space. I have a 2007 Ford Escape and wife will only let me use hatch space. Does anyone have any suggestions on what "size and brand" subwoofer would be best to use for this vehicle application? Can someone please help me !!!! The amps I currently have for power are 2 older model Alpine MRP M-500. I know I probably need to upgrade them but I am on a budget and I have to work with them for now.

Post the maximum dims for your box and your budget for the subs.

^x2

Under Construction

2011 Malibu 1LT

12k DDM Tuning HID's 55W

Soundstream 6.5 components(front)

Inffinitty Kappa 6x9's (rear)

Thanks for keeping it real Kranny, I appreciate it. Im new to the game and just looking for some insight on a solid subwoofer that will perform well on 1000 watts. Thanks again

ground pounder and budget don't go hand in hand :P but you've always gotta start somewhere. I suggest starting small. The DC lvl 3 series is rated at 900wrms. Those should perform fine with that kind of power. what size sub?

Thanks for keeping it real Kranny, I appreciate it. Im new to the game and just looking for some insight on a solid subwoofer that will perform well on 1000 watts. Thanks again

ground pounder and budget don't go hand in hand :P but you've always gotta start somewhere. I suggest starting small. The DC lvl 3 series is rated at 900wrms. Those should perform fine with that kind of power. what size sub?

So true, but Id rather get info to start with something decent than going out and buying something that isnt going to last yet alone perform. Probably gonna go with a single 12 or 15 if space allows. Thanks.