6.5 Midrange woofer

djunified

Ok guys heres the dillemma.

Currently i have a set of Rockford Fosgate Prime 6.5 components up front in my '99 Sable. I bought these in an attempt to achieve better midbass over my old speakers which were JBL grand touring 6x8's. The new RF's are a little bit better, but they still sound like theyre bottoming out at high volumes. Its nowhere near what i am trying to match which is a lancer with the oem RF-enhanced system. My friend has that and the midbass from the doors is just incredible!

I have only been in the car audio scene for about a year, so i am still learning. I dont know if it is the speakers, the amp, door dynamics, imaging, or just my expectations being too high. My amplifier is a cheap dual xpa series amp, and i have achieved the same results with other amps i have experimented with. All of my gains are set with an oscope, and the crossover is set to 80 hz.

After doing much research, i am debating whether to buy some dedicated midbass woofers like some punch 6.5's, or any from other brands. Either way, they all look the same featuring a large magnet, bigger tinsel leads, and some having a baffle around the woofer to act like an enclosure. To me, it seems like this would be the way to go rather than try to push bass out of a cheap prime speaker

Anybodys input or a brief explanation would be helpful.

Thanks

Your JBL's were probably better than the Primes. lol The Primes are really basic. Did you putting sound deadening materials on the doors?

Mids/Highs: stock Bang & Olufsen

Lows: Image Dynamics IDMax 12v.3

Power: Sony Xplod XM-D9001GTR:Knukonceptz 4 gauge

Box: 1.75 cu/ft Sealed

Past: Pioneer Premier TS-W1207 (2)/ Rockford Fosgate P210/ Image Dynamics ID10V.3/ Infinity Reference 311A/ Audiopipe AP-18001D